Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Amazing. I normally use another chocolate frosting recipe from this website, but, for her 12th bday, my daughter Jennah asked for chocolate cream cheese frosting for her cake, so the search began. I ended up with this one. I think it has a really gourmet cocoa flavor. You don't taste the cream cheese a ton, but it is seriously luscious. In fact, its my fave now, and everyone at the party agreed. It does have a slightly bittersweet taste as someone mentioned, but I don't think that is a bad thing, I think it adds to the flavor. I just subbed regular milk for the evap since I didn't want to open a can for 2 tbsp. worked fine, nice and creamy and perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
So good! I used 2/3 cup of chocolate chips and 1% milk instead of evaporated milk. I used this to frost the chocolate zucchini cake from this site, which is just an incredible combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This turned out amazing. the only change I made was subbing milk for the evaporated milk. this came out smooth, creamy, and amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, and very bitter :( I will try buttercream icing next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Just made this to top my cake, and is super yummy, and super easy to make.best chocolate frosting i've found in a long time. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is a chocolate dream tasting honor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was quick easy to make. Also very creamy and easy to spread. I did not have the unsweetened chocolate squares and used Dark Chocolate chips instead. I also doubled the amount of chocolate because it needed more chocolate in my opinion. I will definately use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I am currently in Chile, and realized that there is no cocoa powder here... So while making a chocolate cake for my family, I decided to make this. It turned out wonderfully. I did not add the milk as I felt it wasn't needed. I also did not measure anything (as measurements also do not exist here) but I think I used a bit less powdered sugar. It had a wonderful flavor and I ate the leftovers with strawberries :) It made a great Halloween cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SSwisher
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Tasty frosting but consistency more like a glaze - wish I had stopped at 1 tablespoon of cream (or stayed with none) because it was too runny to hold a shape at the end. I used a good chocolate and my frosting was very light. Perhaps because I used 1 oz of chocolate, which with my bar was only 2 squares? Used to top pumpkin bread III cupcakes from AR and the combo was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Realized I was out of butter when I went to make a frosting for my son's birthday cake. Couldn't get to the store so I made this frosting. It reminded me of chocolate cheesecake. I liked it, but I prefer regular chocolate frosting on cake. It was interesting, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States