Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Cherry Rae
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
This was very quick and easy to whip up and spread over a layer cake. I used half fat cream cheese for a less-sinful result. I also only used around 1/3 of the sugar suggested. Even with a small amount of confectioners sugar it was a great consistency. I used 87% cocoa swiss chocolate and also added a couple of squares of white vanilla chocolate instead of using condensed milk. I changed the servings to 6 as I was frosting an 8 inch layer cake and it was to be swirled with the Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting. I had a tonne left over so it was more than enough; I think there would have been plenty to frost the 8inch layer cake on it's own. This was all used on the "Fudge Cake" recipe. It was so rich and delicious. It was perfect for a special occasion cake (in this case a birthday). I actually found the frosting quite tangy, but this might be because I didn't use condensed milk and I cut the sugar so much. I do like a good tangy frosting. I would recommend this to anyone who is a chocolate lover, and I think it would probably actually work best on a non-chocolate cake in order to appreciate it fully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
I made this to go on a chocolate cake-- Dark Chocolate Cake I, I think, but I'm not sure-- and it was pretty good. I was looking for a more cream cheesier taste, as this was quite fudgey, but it wasn't a bad taste; just not exactly what I was looking for. Very rich and smooth. It just barely covered 3 layers, but the frosting and cake were soooo moist and chocolatey together there was no need for excesses of frosting (though I am fond of them). I would definitely make this again to frost a dark chocolate cake for a quasi death-by-chocolate experience. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: May 27, 2006
SO good! It turned out thick and rich, almost like a fudge icing. I used it to frost David's yellow cake, also from this site. Beautiful combo. I was short one square of chocolate, so I used 3 TBS. cocoa powder + 1 TBS. butter and melted it with the rest of the chocolate. This recipe worked out very well in my Kitchenaid. I made it for my little guy's 2nd birthday today, and he loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I made this to put on a Chocolate Angel Food Cake. It was very good. I made this exactly as the recipe said. I wouldn't change a thing with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington Court House, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Really good except I used whipping cream instead of condenced milk. Also, I didn't measure the sugar, but I'm pretty sure I didn't use as much as the recipe called for. I just added as much as I thought would be good, and it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Loved this recipe! The only substitution I made was heavy cream for the evaporated milk. I only used the cream since I had some left in the fridge from another recipe and wanted to use it up. Not sure if the cream made it taste different . . . but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Figler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This just didn't do it for me. I think it was too tangy. I prefer either a chocolate frosting, or a cream cheese frosting, but not a combination - it seemed like it cancelled each other out. I kinda feel like I wasted my cream cheese! Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
It was so good I ate it out of the bowl by the spoonful, shame on me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
Excellent recipe and easy. You can substitute half-n-half or milk if you don't have evaporated milk. Not too sweet and very creamy, but I had to add a little more half-n-half to get the consistency I wanted. And it's more than enough to cover a large cake and sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
Way too sweet - I didn't use half the sugar and it was still very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States