Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
So yummy and creamy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Made 1/2 recipe and put over Deep Dish Brownies from this site. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This is okay, I guess I like sweet frostings because this was too bitter for me. I added more powder sugar and milk to get it to the flavor that my husband and I enjoy. I am not a fan of dark chocolate but am crazy over milk chocolate, so maybe this is why I wanted it sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This is good frosting recipe to start off on but needs tweeking. It definitely needs more chocolate. I would almost double the chocolate because the cream cheese and the sugar dominate the flavor. Others have suggested reducing the sugar amount and even adding some coffee. If you are a true chocolate afficcianado you are definetly going to want to make some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Three Rivers, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I will be making this again! It was perfect and very easy to spead. I made it with a chocolate cake. Don't forget to double the recipe if you are making a double layer cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
The best part of the cake! Seriously ... made it for my brothers Birthday and he loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ange Rayner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
THIS FROSTING HAD A GREAT CONSISTENCY AND SUPERB FLAVOR. ABOUT THE ONLY THING I DID DIFFERENT WAS I ADDED 2 TEASPOON OF INSTANT COFFEE TO THE MELTED CHOCOLATE TO INTENSIFY THE FLAVOR. IT WAS SUPER SWEET AND FLAVORFUL. NEXT TIME I MAY ADD MAYBE 3/4 CUP LESS SUGAR. I ALSO USED LOW FAT CREAM CHEESE AND IT STILL CAME OUT FABULOUS. THIS IS A KEEPER FOR ANY BAKER. KUDOS TO THE RECIPE CREATOR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Well this was just sinfully good! I wonder if the reviewers who found this frosting bitter realized that there is supposed to be one tablespoon of vanilla in this recipe. I almost bypassed that myself and would have tossed in the usual teaspoonful. The only problem I encountered with this recipe was in the mixing. However, I must admit that I didn't let the cream cheese come to full room temperature. Also I don't have a stand mixer which would have helped as this is a very sturdy frosting! Anyway, a couple more tablespoonfuls of evaporated milk took care of my problem. Try this on one of the dark chocolate cake recipes from this site. It's to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Very good frosting! I didn't think it was bitter but then again I love chocolate. I made it exactly as stated in the recipe and it frosted a 9" 2 layer cake. Very good recipe, I'll keep this one for lots of cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Willard, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This recipe turned out great for me! The best part about it is that it's not too sweet. For those of you who are the type to scrape some of the frosting off your birthday cake. This is the recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States