Chocolate Covered Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
The tooth pick in the styrofoam allows for a nice even coating of chocolate while it cools. To do the white chocolate streaks like in the picture you would need to let the milk chocolate cool and then lay them down on wax paper and drizzle the white chocolate over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hui Min
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Great presentation & good taste. Looks pro too. But instead of drizzling white chocolate, I used other things like sprinkles & lightly toasted nut bits. I made these for Valentine's Day 2012! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hui Min

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TruTigress
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Easy & delicious! You can get as creative as you want to with this recipe. I only used 1T of crisco per 1C chocolate. First I dipped the berries in Guittard milk choc & put them on a parchment lined cookie sheet. I put them in the fridge on the cookie sheet to cool for about an hour then I dipped them back into bittersweet chocolate. Then I sprinkled some with course sea salt, some I rolled in mini semi-sweet chips, some I rolled in red crystal sugar. Skys the limit to how you can decorate these berries. They were a hit with my loved ones. Will make these again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TruTigress

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Totally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Did it all in the microwave (at 30 sec intervals). Let them dry on wax paper in the fridge. Worked perfectly! No need to go through the double boiler hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
only needed 12 oz bag!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I always make chocolate covered strawberries. Especially for Valentine's Day. This recipe was totally easy. I just hadn't done it with chocolate chips and shortening. SO I thought what the heck...I'm in the mood ;-) Easy Peasy! My family loved them. I have no complaints. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Made these for a Valentine's day treat and they turned out perfect. The bag of milk chocolate chips I had wasn't quite 16 oz so I topped them up with some semi-sweet ones resulting in a chocolate combination. As others have suggested, I melted the shortening first in the microwave and then added it to the chocolate as I started to melt it on the stove. I also melted white chocolate chips to be able to do the stripes. I did add a bit of shortening to the white chocolate but not as much as I did to the milk/semi-sweet chocolate. In other reviews, people had suggested not using any shortening at all with the white chocolate so I didn't want to make the white chocolate too runny. I didn't have any issues and was very pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Great advice with the double broiler and melting butter before you add chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anil

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This was trial and error for us even after reading many of the reviews. Chocolate is very tricky to melt properly and we were never able to get it to a "drizzle" consistency at all, our berries were quite large because thats all i could find so they were delicious but not as attractive as i wanted. There has to be a way to make the chocolate a little thinner so i will continue to search for easier methods and the best melting chocolate to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cochranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 834) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States