Chocolate Covered Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
very easy, very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Used the biggest, sweetest strawberries I could find and dipped them in dark chocolate. Then, I rolled them in sliced almonds, toffee chips, or pecans. Delish! Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Really easy to prepare chocolate using a double boiler. I usually microwave my chocolate and it ends up quite hot. The chocolate was warm/cool after its bout in the double boiler. Used bittersweet chocolate and shortening. The chocolate was shiny when it hardened, shinier than when using butter. I ran out of space in the plastic colander I was using as a stand for the toothpicked-strawberries, so I used an egg carton (with the eggs intact to weigh it down). After the chocolate hardened, I microwaved a small handful of white chocolate morsels. A sliver of shortening made the chocolate 'drippy' enough, spooned it into a snack baggie, cut a hole, place berries on wax paper and drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Sweet! I have made this a couple times. I don't have a double broiler so I put a small pan inside a larger pan of boiling water. It worked pretty good. My chocolate was a 12 oz bag and I forgot to adjust the shortening (I used margarine) so my chocolate didn't harden as it should have, but that was my fault. I just layed the strawberries on wax paper because I didn't have any styrofoam. Very nice treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
We did this with both strawberries and pineapple chunks, using bittersweet chocolate. It was SO GOOD! The only thing was that the chocolate got lumpy with the pineapple chunks, so when we do it again we'll sqeeze out some of the juice before we dip the pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Who knew these would be so easy? Such an elegant dessert. I'll be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Thanks for the tip on setting the chocolate covered strawberries upside-down. I didn't have Styrofoam so I used an upside down egg carton. I recommend poking holes using a pin rather than trying to poke the toothpick through. Also, next time I will watch the chocolate more carefully so as not to let it steam and therefore lose its smoothness. Based on my attempts plus other reviews, once the chocolate is overheated, there's no fixing it. The all recipes article on tempering chocolate was very helpful. Thanks for all the helpful reviews! The flavor of my finished product was still very tasty and I'll make these again with and without shortening. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I did these with white chocolate chips. Dipped the strawberries about half way up the berry, then rolled the tips of the berries in blue tinted sugar. Voila! red, white and blue strawberries for a Memorial Day picnic. My grand daughter and I did these among lots of giggling and dripped chocolate and named them the best of the whole meal. My daughter said she never even got a taste! We'll do this again for July 4th and I'll post a picture. They really look great for the American holidays. If I can find strawberries at Christmas we plan to do them with a little bit of green sugar to make a red, white and green theme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
made these for my single male roommates and I last Valentine's day. They're tedious but delicious and fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkkaroline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Thanks to all the reviews - this came out perfectly for me! I used Hershey semi-sweet chocolate chips & the recommended amount of shortening melted in a pyrex bowl/pot of simmering water until the chocolate melted. I made sure the bottom of the pot didn't touch the water and stirred a few times. It was easy to dip and twirl the strawberries. I used a toothpick for a few but it ended up seeming unnecessary. Plus I actually LIKE the flat bottomed choc-covered berries, so they don't slide around on serving platter. The crisco make the chocolate nice and shiny. I was able to cover 3 lbs of strawberries with 16 oz (2+ cups) and I had some leftover chocolate which I drizzled over pretzels I had in the house - delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 835) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States