Chocolate Covered Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Important to remove the chocolate from heat once melted. It becomes nice and silky, and cool enough so you don't get a nasty burn if it drips on you. Also had trouble keeping the strawberries on the toothpick--they were clean & dry, but quite ripe and soft. Wound up scooping the chocolate with a rubber spatula & swirling the spatula around the strawberries while holding them sideways by the toothpick. Basically, I frosted them. Not as pretty as the professional ones, but so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
These would be perfect for the mothers day fruit basket I'm making my mother for Mother's Day. Thanks for the advice!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
will definitely make it again! there's left over chocolate, so i refrigerate it to use it for next time. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Easier than I thought, and faster! I also used drained and dried Marachino cherries, stems attached. I put them out in the cool garage for a few minutes and they hardened quickly. I used a four oz package of semi sweet Ghirardelli chocolate along with the milk choc disks. I may increase the amount of it next time since I love a darker chocolate. 16 oz of chocolate made about 24 huge strawberries and 24 cherries. Also, I sprinkled some non-parrells on some of the strawberries right after I dipped it instead of using the white candy swirls. I'm making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Not going to be near as hard on this recipe as some others were. Recipe should be halved for 1 pound of strawberries. You can learn this by reading the reviews first, but a lot of people, like myself, don't always do that. The next day the chocolate forms a hard shell and falls apart, the shortening could be increased, or add more butter to help keep chocolate softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Personally I don't care much for chocolate cover strawberries but, my girlfriend loved them and that's who they were for. Make sure you set on wax paper or something nonstick as the chocolate on the strawberries will stick to the plate in my case and half or more of the chocolate will come off or be stuck to the plate, I knew this but it was worse than I thought it would be. Also the shortening was put in with the chocolate to help it stick better to the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I made these for my hunni for Valentine's day and they came out perfectly! I had some leftover white and milk choclate and made chocolate covered pretzels! I used semi-sweet chips instead of milk chocolate. He loved them; they were gone in 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baby coyote
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
My five-year-old daughter enjoyed helping her Mommy making these lovely looking strawberries for her Daddy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baby coyote

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I made this for my wife for Valentine's Day today and it was better than anything I could buy. I found large, sweet strawberries with the stem and used milk chocolate bars. I followed previous remarks and melted the shortening in the microwave and then added the chocolate bars. I microwaved the chocolate for 25 seconds and stirred to blend and kept this process until it was melted well. Strawberries were dipped in the chocolate and I placed them on parchment paper and in the fridge to cool and set. I also had cut-up fresh pineapple and dip it in the chocolate as well. They were delicious! Had a hard time keeping my son from eating them up before my wife came home. I will never buy store bought chocolate-covered strawberries again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 4lilchix
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Awesome!!! I have never tried to make chocolate covered strawberries before, but these turned out great for a first-timer!! Nixed the shortening and used the glass bowl over the sauce pan with the water about 1/2 inch from bottom of glass pan for the double-boiler. Piped the white chocolate with the ziplock- worked like a charm! I need some more practice-definitely not "Shari's Berries" material, but not too bad for the first time! I know my girlies and hubby will LOVE them! Thank you everyone for your suggestions! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 833) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States