Chocolate Covered Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This was trial and error for us even after reading many of the reviews. Chocolate is very tricky to melt properly and we were never able to get it to a "drizzle" consistency at all, our berries were quite large because thats all i could find so they were delicious but not as attractive as i wanted. There has to be a way to make the chocolate a little thinner so i will continue to search for easier methods and the best melting chocolate to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cochranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by skater734
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
These were so easy to make! I chose to follow a mix of recommendations and used 12 oz semi-sweet chocolate (ghirardelli) and 4 oz bittersweet. I think any kind would taste delicious though. I used the two tbsp of shortening as well. I didn't have double boiler so I used a pot with a mixing bowl. Once I melted the chocolate, I kept the bowl over the water, but lowered the heat and I had absolutely no problem with the chocolate clumping up. Also, I added some Canola Oil to the white chocolate and it made it much easier to drizzle with an icing tip. Love it and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skater734

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
So good! How can you go wrong with chocolate and strawberries? I made these just as written, but my bag of chocolates was only 12oz, so I only used 1.5 Tablespoons of shortening. Turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
These were easy and delicious. Also made version with dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
These were super easy and quick. When making these make sure to leave the stems on. I took mine off and regreted it. Also it helps if you put them in the freezer for about 8 min before dipping them. As they are firmer and the toothpick won't slide out as easy. Hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T.Mason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
amazing vagu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KendraDarigan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
One trick I want to pass on about the drizzled white chocolate -- melt the white chocolate and with a fork, dip the fork into the chocolate and move your hand back and forth to make artistic designs. Very unique look and you don't need to pipe the chocolate over the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I use a small crockpot for melting the chocolate and use semi-sweet chocolate(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Don't overheat chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I'm planning on making these for my husband on Valentine's Day,it's my first time making these and this recipe looks very easy,I mean why waste so much money on store bought when you make more and with LOVE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 835) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States