Chocolate Covered Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I made this for my wife for Valentine's Day today and it was better than anything I could buy. I found large, sweet strawberries with the stem and used milk chocolate bars. I followed previous remarks and melted the shortening in the microwave and then added the chocolate bars. I microwaved the chocolate for 25 seconds and stirred to blend and kept this process until it was melted well. Strawberries were dipped in the chocolate and I placed them on parchment paper and in the fridge to cool and set. I also had cut-up fresh pineapple and dip it in the chocolate as well. They were delicious! Had a hard time keeping my son from eating them up before my wife came home. I will never buy store bought chocolate-covered strawberries again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 4lilchix
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Awesome!!! I have never tried to make chocolate covered strawberries before, but these turned out great for a first-timer!! Nixed the shortening and used the glass bowl over the sauce pan with the water about 1/2 inch from bottom of glass pan for the double-boiler. Piped the white chocolate with the ziplock- worked like a charm! I need some more practice-definitely not "Shari's Berries" material, but not too bad for the first time! I know my girlies and hubby will LOVE them! Thank you everyone for your suggestions! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Really worked out well! Very easy and delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Some more tips for making these lovely berries: 1. Pick strawberries with lovely green leaves, if possible. 2. Wash the strawberries carefully. 3. Place them on paper towels to dry. If, after they are dry, you notice any "red" left over on the paper towel, sit these berries to the side for "practice" or "test" berries: if the skin is bruised or broken they will continue to let the juice out and weaken the integrity of the chocolate after they are dipped. These are the ones that you can practice on and test (eat!). 4. Make sure the berries are absolutely dry or the chocolate will not set well. 5. You can use a toothpick, as mentioned, OR you can pull the leaves straight up and use them as a handle. This will get them out of the way of the chocolate (who wants chocolate leaves lol). Dip and rotate so that the chocolate covers the berry 2/3 to 3/4 to the top. Lay them on one of the "flat" sides (on a waxed paper surface) to set. 6. To assure that the chocolate adheres well AND hardens quickly, you can chill you berries briefly in the fridge or freezer until the surface is cold. Just don't leave them in that environment too long or the berries will start to "sweat" as they return to room temperature and, well, you've got that problem of chocolate on a "wet" berry again. 7. You can dip them again, if you like...but be aware that the harder and thicker the chocolate shell, the more likely the chocolate will break and fall off the berries with each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
this was an awesome recipe!! toothpicks worked great! my first time I made chocolate strawberries. My first batch came out great but my second did not due to the fact that steam from my homemade double boiler got into the bowl so beware of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
too good 2 be true, to fancy too be real
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
They look amazing! I had to trial/error the first two strawberries cause I didn't realize if they were wet from cleaning, the choco wouldn't take. Silly me! The chocolate had a very strong shortening smell which put me off a bit, but it tastes fine! I think the boyfriend will enjoy these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Always make some of these around Valentine's Day. Instead of dipping them in the chocolate, I "paint" them using a pastry brush. In my opinion, it is much less messy and I can hold them gently by the stems..never a chance of them coming off of toothpick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This is an awesome recipe! I love the review that suggested making in the microwave at around 70% pour, a minute or so at a time. It is easier than the store-bought chocolate made for dipping. These are so easy and delicious. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Love these. Have made them several times. Great idea to put them in styrofoam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 835) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States