Chocolate Covered Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Chocolate strawberries are very easy to make....simply melt the chocolate with half a teaspoon of canola oil(or any vegetable oil) in the microwave just until the chocolate (I've used choc chips and they work very well) is melted. Dip the strawberries in the choc and lay on a waxpaper-lined cookie sheet. Cool in the refrigerator until the choc is set and then melt some white choc chips. I put the melted white choc chips into a ziplock plastic bag. Snip off one corner and drizzle the white choc onto the choc-dipped strawberries and vola you have a beautiful masterpiece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This is a very good recipe, but I have worked with chocolate for many years and the amount of chocolate listed here is too much for the amount of shortening. The darker the chocolate, the more shortening or paraffin is needed to make and keep it smooth. The strawberries must be clean, dry, and room temperature before starting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA
Photo by Drumsle
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Super easy and delicious! Comments were helpful and I just used my hands instead of toothpicks, it's way easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Delicious and easy! However, white chocolate has to be treated differently than dark/milk. My white chocolate covered strawberries looked horrendous because it hardened so it was basically beautiful strawberries with globs of white. Still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I made these Valentines Day 2013 - delicious and so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Awesome and most needed recipe. I just love ittt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Using shortening is much better than just the chocolate only which is what lot of other recipes say to do. I prefer to use semi-sweet chocolate chips. I heat it easily in the microwave, just be sure not to overheat the chocolate or it will get nasty and lumpy. I put it in a small bowl or a coffee mug, stirring every 20 seconds until the chocolate chips are almost completely melted, then I stir it for about 30 seconds to let it finish melting outside of the microwave. I use a shish kabob stick to dip the strawberries, I stab it straight down into the stem, it's way stronger than a toothpick. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carressa00

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I will attempt again. My chocolate totally seized up. But I am determined and ready to try again...if I can get the strawberries, maybe for this Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This was my first time making these. I didn't want to use lard, so I tried light corn syrup with the chocolate, terrible. I ended up using butter, letting it melt first then mixed the chocolate in with it. Be careful to not overcook, cause it will get thick. Probably will try to make these again with modifications. The people I made this for said they tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 849) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States