Chocolate Covered Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I made these Valentines Day 2013 - delicious and so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Awesome and most needed recipe. I just love ittt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Using shortening is much better than just the chocolate only which is what lot of other recipes say to do. I prefer to use semi-sweet chocolate chips. I heat it easily in the microwave, just be sure not to overheat the chocolate or it will get nasty and lumpy. I put it in a small bowl or a coffee mug, stirring every 20 seconds until the chocolate chips are almost completely melted, then I stir it for about 30 seconds to let it finish melting outside of the microwave. I use a shish kabob stick to dip the strawberries, I stab it straight down into the stem, it's way stronger than a toothpick. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carressa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I will attempt again. My chocolate totally seized up. But I am determined and ready to try again...if I can get the strawberries, maybe for this Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This was my first time making these. I didn't want to use lard, so I tried light corn syrup with the chocolate, terrible. I ended up using butter, letting it melt first then mixed the chocolate in with it. Be careful to not overcook, cause it will get thick. Probably will try to make these again with modifications. The people I made this for said they tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Great recipe! I just don't use the shortening only because you can melt it with out it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aunt Meg
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Simple and Easy - but full of YUMMOLICIOUSNESS!! I made these for my sister's bridal shower and they were a HUGE hit! We decided to do several of her favorite foods for the entire shower menu - and I knew chocolate covered strawberries had to be an option on the dessert menu! This recipe was almost too easy! One recipe makes several chocolate covered strawberries - especially depending on the size of your berries. With the shower being in early summer, many berries were very large - but I was still able to get almost 2 dzn berries from this recipe and 3/4 of each berry was covered (I made them later in the summer for another bridal shower, and the berries were much smaller and I was able to almost 2.5 dz from one recipe.) For "setting and cooling"...I dipped each berry in the chocolate, placed them on wax paper lined cookie sheets, and then placed them in the refrigerator. They were set in about 20 min. I was then able to store them in an airtight plastic container - to make transporting much easier. For serving, I placed each strawberry in individual silver cupcake liners, and then displayed them on a Wilton cupcakes & more display stand...it was so pretty and a nice touch to the dessert table! I kept the berries simple - nothing drizzled on top - but may "dress them up" in the future, depending on the situation. Such a quick, simple recipe - great summertime treat, a Valentine's gift or a nice touch to a bridal party lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
You saved my party.. It was elegant, delicious and soooo easy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I always inject my chocolate covered strawberries with Godiva Liquor. Divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Made them for Ali and Mimoo's party and they went fast! Be sure strawberries are dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 834) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States