Chocolate Covered Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Great! I just wanted to try this out, so I went with a 1/4th recipe. I followed the recipe and but did not bother with the toothpicks or Styrofoam - I just put it on parchment paper. I also dipped dried fruit. My son is home from college and this is a big favorite for him. It is nice to be able to do it, without buying the special melting chocolate - some of which is not great quality. I melted it to just melting (still has some small lumps), and then took it off the stove, but left it in the double boiler, which kept the chocolate noce and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
So easy, so simple, and so delicious. Perfect for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Easy, I dont have a dble boiler, I used 2 pots and took the chocolate pot off when half way melted and stirred it until it melted. I used a little less than 2tbs butter instead of shortening and a 11.5 oz bag of chocolate chips. Yummy, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Excellent! Easy to work with... My daughter asked for them for her school birthday treat. Definately use the shortening for a smoother consistancy and a shinier presentation. I tried them with and without. It was easier to work with when shortening was used as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Didn't use any shortening and it worked out great! Didn't measure the temperature either - I melted 90% of the chocolate in a double boiler and when it was melted I added 10% of the chocolate OFF the double boiler. I then let the chocolate sit to cool off a tad and dipped the strawberries! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I made these for the 1st time today, I'm very happy with the results. I don't have a dbl. boiler, so I microwaved the chips at 50%-60% pwr. I was afraid to burn the chocolate, so I didn't get it as melted as I would have liked, but oh well. They don't look perfect, but I didn't have that kind of time anyways, they taste amazing and that's what counts! I also injected half of them with pineapple rum and let me tell you.... HOLY COW THEY ARE AMAZING! LOL. I think I'll be keeping that tray at our table for us, hahaha. I made these for my Husband's company picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EvsWifey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This is tried and true. You simply can't go wrong with this combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Credit River Township, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Savage, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
TIP: after thoroughly washing/rinsing strawberries, place them in a colander to drain and then carefully dry each one completely (I use paper towels and blot gently), being sure to leave the green leaves intact (they look pretty on the dipped strawberries). Any water or moisture that gets into the melted chocolate will cause it to become crumbly and unusable. I also melt a variety of chocolates. Besides milk chocolate, I melt semi-sweet and dark. These can be layered dipped. Lay cooled dipped strawberries on parchment paper lined tray and put in fridge for a bit to harden. If you put them in the fridge while the chocolate is warm, they will bead up with moisture causing them to become soggy when you take them out. If you want them to be extra festive, you can add various and colourful sprinkles or chopped nuts to them before the chocolate sets up. Chocolate dipped strawberries are one of my fave indulgences and are actually not at all difficult to make. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Can't get enough of chocolate covered strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
THINGS NOT TO DO: first we were melting witenagemot chocolate for the strawberries. We put it in a microwave and stirred every thirty seconds. Don't do this because it'll burn!!! Then we put the same chocolate into a home made double boiler only to realize that the pits can't touch. So now we added some oil to it so then it doesn't stick as much and are melting it. Hopes it will go smoother with the other chocolates! Overall, this recipe was great! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 834) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States