Chocolate Covered Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I have not made this recipe BUT i do make chocolate covered pretzels - the trick is to use CHOCOLATE BARK COATING. It adheres to the pretzels VERY well (better than chips and cream). I melt the chocolate bark over a double boiler so it doesn't burn and then dip the pretzel rod or round in the chocolate, lay them all on wax paper and put in freezer. Then after hard, I redip again, roll in crushed candy (peanuts, sprinkles, M&Ms, rieces peanuts, or drizzle melted white chocolate) and freeze until hard again. DELICIOUS and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
758 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I used 1 1/2 bags of milk chocolate chips that I melted in a double boiler over medium heat. This was enough to cover half of each pretzel in a 200g bag. The chocolate melted quickly without chunks and the pretzels dipped perfectly. (skip the cream!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2000
Using the whipping cream I could not get the chocolate to thin enough. I substituted shortening and then the recipe worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I have not tryied this recipe but it is not the easiest way to make chocolate covered pretzels....save your cream and chocolate chips....heat 1 pkg of chocolate bark in a double boiler dip pretzels let set on wax paper and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I like this treat...but this recipe seems a little too complicated. Have any of you ever tried Candiquik? It comes in chocoalte and vanilla and it is SO easy to use. Pop it in your microwave for a minute, stir, and use to cover pretzels, fruit, make barks, etc. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
I couldn't get the chocolate to stick to the pretzels-this was a waste of time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
This did not work. The chocolate turned into a big, unusable lump. We tried adding shortening but it didn't help. We added some wax and it turned out ok, but by then the chocolate was gritty. I'll try something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
I tried this recipe several times, the chocolate would not get thin enough, apparently you needed more heavy cream....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Followed Norma Jean on this & mixed milk choco chips & white choco chips along with a tiny bit of vegetable oil in a double boiler. Was very easy & kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I did NOT use the heavy cream. I just added a tsp. of shortening instead, like I would if I was making my peanut butter cracker sandwiches dipped in chocolate. After we finished dipping the pretzles, we sprinkled crushed candy canes over the top. Huge hit. NOTE: We didn't even get half of a bag of mini pretzels covered with the chocolate that was called for in this recipe. It wasn't a big deal for us because we were just monkeying around in the kitchen. If you want a whole bag to actually be done in this recipe, you'll want to use double or triple the amount of chocolate chips called for in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States