Chocolate Covered Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I tried this and the chocolate turned to a ball, thanks I just wasted a bag of chocolate chips! Not happy, we are on a strict budget. I do not reccommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I use the baking chocolate without the cream too. But if I have to use chocolate chips or even Hershey bars, I use some peanut butter and that seems to help thin the chocolate and it sticks well to the pretzels. It also tastes yummy with all the flavors together. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tomacita H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magna, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
What's not to love about chocolate and pretzels!? I do NOT add the whipping cream, but instead add a little shortening or parafin, depending on what I have on hand to thin the chips out slightly and to insure they will set up properly when dry. These are great for a quick sweet snack or even for gifts! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by cakenbake
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Love the sweet and salty combo. After the chocolate set a little I dipped mine in chopped nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakenbake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
C'mon people. The recipe simply states to heat the chocolate and the cream together. If you do this, the chocolate will NOT seize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I made this with baking chocolate and skipped the cream. If you use chocolate chips - you will need some cream or margarine or butter when melting because chocolate chips have an additive agent to them that helps keep it shape when exposed to heat as opposed to baking chocolate or chocolate bark. the kids loved these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I was melting the chocolate chips before I added the cream. The chocolate was melting nicely (should maybe have stopped there?), and then I added the cream and heated that. Once I started to stir, it hardened up. Save your chocolate chips and find a different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DenaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Chocolate would not get to a good consistncy and did not want to stick to pretzel. Will not try this recipe again. I am going to try chocolate bark like all the other reviewers have suggested. Don't waste your time or your chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
My mom, sister and I tried to use this recipe. Twice. The second time we melted the chocolate by itself first and it looked fine. So we firgured we just had the heat up too high. So we added the cream and it instantly hardened up into a ball. I highly recommend not using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I didn't really use this recipe. I read the review about the chocolate bark and used that. It worked wonderfully. The pretzel rods turned out beautiful! I did the same thing she talked about using...the double boiler and spread it on the pretzel and then on wax paper. After they hardened I dipped them again and then put on sprinkles! When I was done I put them in a cleaned out peanut butter jar, covered them with saran wrap and tied it with a bow! What a beautiful gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States