Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I also varied the flavors: lemon, orange, and maple. I shape the dough in to a small log, cut it into small squares and used it as filling for those candy molds you buy at craft stores. I stored them in fridge until I gave them away as gifts. I am going to do the same thing for my wedding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
These are soooo good! These were a definite favorite of everyone over the holidays. This recipe makes alot, which is good because as rich as they are, they still disappear FAST! I was thinking about making them in heart shapes for Valentines Day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
These taste just like York Peppermint patties They took a little to much time but the end results were worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Yum!! Yum!!! These were GREAT--I had a lot of compliaments on these! Hubbys favorite is Yorkshire Peppermint Patties, and he said these tasted just like them. I didn't have any wax paper so I used an oven liner (new of course)--worked GREAT. When they filled the oven liner I used half of my cutting board--Bad idea-they stuck and I had to chissel them off. I didn't have time to let them sit overnight becaue I made them the day before Christmas Eve, so I put them in the freezer like another reviewer suggested--worked out perfect--HUGE time saver. I used a lot more sugar than the recipe called for, and I added a few drops of green food coloring for Christmas. Gave some out with cookies in Christmas themed tins. My daughter (5) helped make the patties, and we had a ball! Will definatly be making again. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
These are my favorites! I made these twice. First time with instant....OMG what a mess! Although, somehow they came out edible. I was so frustrated I dumped the entire box of flakes in by the time it was over :(. Second time they are perfect....but i had to add WAY more sugar than called for ....so definitely have extra sugar on hand....and that means extra chocolate! Still, by far, my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I tried these just for fun for part of my holiday baking and their here to stay!! They were so easy and tasted just like the real thing. I did have to double the amount for the coating as the dough made 60 patties, but they dried in a little over two hours and tasted fantastic. I also only added 1 1/2 tsp of the peppermint extract and they seemed to have just the right amount of mint. Great recipe and a fun one for kids to help with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
Yum Yum! Easy and really good! I didn't want to hassel with dipping them completly in chocolate so I just drizzled some on top and it was great. I have also used colored candy coating (you can get from craft stores or baking supply chops) and decorated for the holidays in specific colors! Another thing, They hold up really well in the fridge I have made them up to a week in advance. Thanks for the great and easy recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
These were wonderful. I varied the flavorings, and made some with maple and lemon centers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
I made these mints for couple of Christmas parties I went to and they were such a hit. I had so many request for the recipe. I told them where I found the recipe and e-mailed the recipe and the site. I made then with mint and also vanilla. They were so good. I coated them with white bark also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
Whatever you do, don't use instant mashed potatoes. Somehow, I couldn't get the patties to thicken. As I didn't have any extra powdered sugar to add, I was forced to add extra potatoes and then it ended up tasting awful. I will try again with regular potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States