Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
awesome! they tasted just like york peppermint patties :) .. my only qualm is that mashing the potatoes by hand just doesn't cut it. they need to be as smooth as possible for this recipe. because even though i thought i did a pretty good job mashing them, there were these hard little pieces of potato in the finished product that were kind of unpleasant to bite into. but that was more my mistake than anyone elses. next time i make this recipe, i will use a hand mixer for at least 2 minutes. ~christine~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~christine~

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I'm only giving this a 3 today but I think I messed it up so it may change next time I try them. When I made potatoes I let them cool completely before mashing and it was alot harder to mash. Next time I'll whip them up with an electric mixer while still hot to get a smooth potato. I also didn't have mint so I used orange extract. It did tast ok but the lumps of potatoes made it taste weird. Also I put the potato mixture in the freezer to harden before putting in chocolate but the potato never harden. Maybe I didn't add enough sugar, hmmm I did add almost 2 bags of it though. So this recipe gets an interesting rating from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Made this for Christmas as part of my candy/cookie trays...everyone raved about them...very easy to make as well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angel122898

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Really yummy! But, making mashed potatoes for this was kind of a pain. There's another recipe on the site for "Peppermint Patties" by Patty that is easier and I think just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This recipe (with a few alterations) is amazing. It will give you delicious peppermint patties that are better than Yorks. This are the changes I made: 1) use bittersweet instead of semisweet chocolate 2) use only 1 tsp of peppermint extract. I also did the following with my mashed potato to make the dough more of an easy process: Boil and mash potato, refrigerate until cold, put potato through a ricer, and then proceed with recipe. I ended up using around 2 pounds of powdered sugar (a little over 7 cups) and just made sure to generously dust the counter and my hands with sugar while forming the patties. I also froze the patties overnight which helped with dipping. Thank you for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
i have used this recipe more than once. it is always a hit and i can't believe i wasn't rolling it into a log and cutting it... i'm so glad you all rated and commented!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I had to try this since it called for mashed potatoes. It is absolutely amazing. I even tried different dippings. Such as Half row of white choc. bark with the two tablespoons of shortening, and White chocolate bark with Bakers German sweet chocolate (6squares) with the 2 tablespoons of shortening. I doubled the recipe and made 190 mints that will go extremely fast for our Christmas with 2 families. I truelly recommend this recipe. Shock em all. They will want it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, Illinois, USA
Living In: Streator, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
These were really good! My husband said "it was the best peppermint patty he's ever had!" I took a few dozen to work (my guinnea pigs!)and I had several "MMMM's". I thought my arm was going to fall off from mixing though! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maxsmom38

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Greenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Awesome recipe! I anticipated being able to detect potato flavor, especially since one reviewer mentioned how they ended up tasting like peppermint mashed potatoes, but I definitely did not have that problem. Since I'm gluten and dairy-free now, I've been busy trying to find candy recipes that I can easily convert to fit my dietary needs. This one was really easy to do. Instead of the butter, I used ghee and that was the only change I needed to make. My only advice would be to USE DARK CHOCOLATE INSTEAD OF SEMI-SWEET. The semi-sweet is still too sweet for peppermint patties. That's the only reason I didn't give this recipe 5 stars. I also halved the recipe when I made it and that worked out perfectly. And I made sure to pretty much overcook the potatoes so they'd be lump-free. I also skipped the drying process and just tossed them in the freezer, left them in there for about 15 minutes, and then QUICKLY dipped them one at a time into a shallow pan of chocolate, RAPIDLY flipped it over to coat the other side, and slapped it back onto the waxed paper. You've got about 5 seconds to complete this whole process before the patty starts to fall apart so work fast! GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sureicancook
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
haha i used instant potatoes too and not a good idea!! i think next time i make these i will try a coconut center!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sureicancook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tooele, Utah, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States