Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These had a great taste, I just found it difficult to work with. I used a whole bag of sugar, wow! The chocolate was difficult to work with and had to use more then the recipe calls for. This recipe also made a lot more than 4 dozen. I don't think I'd try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
These were absolutely FABULOUS! My family couldn't believe they were made from Mashed Potatoes! If you love York Peppermint Patties, you will LOVE these....Though I will say one thing....if you don't want to be working ALL DAY....don't double this recipe..lol....:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JingleBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inkster, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Easy recipe. The only reason I rated it 3 instead of 5, Is, I followed this recipe EXACTLY and still had to add about 10 cups of dough to get the right "dough" consistency. Also, the salt could be easily cut in half. And I would recommend using peppermint oil (food grade, of course) over extract. Though you'd need to cut down the amount used drasitically if you used the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These were really good! Just like York peppermit patties! I made them twice; once for a Christmas party and the other for neighbor Christmas gifts. Both times I added a little green food coloring. Also, when I shaped them I rolled them into a ball and then used a heavy glass dusted in powered sugar to flaten them to give them a more even look. I then freezes them until I was ready to covered them in chocolate and I ended up needing to double the amount of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These were delicious!! Instead of making patties I spead the mint mix on waffle pretzels and froze them for 2 hrs and then dipped them in chocolate. Oh My Goodness!! I will make these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Added extra powdered sugar like the others. Refriderated the filling for about an hours, formed my patties, then froze them for about a half hour. Took them out and covered them and set them on wax paper, put them back in the freezer...i also added extra peppermint and used dark chocolate instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
These are really good! You just have to be careful to not have to much potato, unless you have a LOT of confectioners' sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CinnamonDragon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
What a simple yummy recipe! My family all knows that my go-to candy of choice is the York Peppermint Patty so I had to try this out. I agree with others in that you need to freeze your dough for about an hour before you dip in the chocolate. I also ran out of chocolate so I ended up melting a bag of chocolate chips to dip the remainder in. Thanks for sharing Wendy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I didnt like how mine turned out, but i gave it a three because the texture was good, and I could have done something wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tahmee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I made these for Easter treats. I used several different extracts and they came out great. I really liked them with orange extract. Maple extract got rave reviews too. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States