Chocolate-Covered OREO Cookie Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was a hit with our youth group! I made it for a girl's 18th birthday and everyone loved it. I added one box of chocolate pudding mix to the cake mix and it made it extraordinarily moist. Also, make sure the filling is very cold before you put it on the cake or else it will spill over. I actually put mine in the freezer before putting the chocolate topping on it and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Greco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I made this for a party yesterday. I used low fat oreos, low fat cream cheese and low fat cool whip. It was easy to make and looked amazing! Everyone commented on how great the cake looked and tasted! I did crush up 4 more oreos and sprinkled them over the top of the cake while the frosting was still warm. Great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by cakebuilder
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I must admit that I didn't have a slice of this cake after baking it. I took it to a potluck party and it was gone in 10 minutes, so I assume that everyone liked it (or at least liked how it looked). I used the Wilton fanci-fill pan and filled the center with the Oreo filling (this recipe made the perfect amount for the filling, though if you want extra to decorate the top of the cake, then I suggest making an extra half of the filling recipe). I iced the cake with chocolate ganache instead of using the chocolate icing part of this recipe. As for the sugar, others commented on the sweetness of the filling so I only used a little over 1/3 cup of sugar and light cool whip and it tasted good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakebuilder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I used "Chocolate Zucchini Cake III" on this website to make the cake rather than a box mix. I made two 7 inch round cakes (by halving the recipe)and then spread the filling between to make the "oreo," but there was so much that I ended up putting it on top also. VERY yummy combo and this is coming from someone who is not a chocolate cake fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This is a very messy recipe, but soooo worth it. I covered the entire cake in dark chocolate and crumbled some Oreo's on top of it. It was a big hit my office!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellmawr, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
When my boyfriend's son requested an oreo cake for his birthday this was an excellent rendition of a giant oreo and was AWESOME to eat as well! The three of us managed to eat the entire cake in two days - it was that good! I used a butter chocolate recipe for the cake mixes and also added four or five more crushed oreos as it didn't seem to have enough in the creamy middle. Keep the cake refrigerated otherwise the creamy bit gets too soft and messy. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Granddaughter Sarah's favorite birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Absolutely Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SupaGirl88
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This recipe is so delicious! The combination of the cream cheese filling and chocolote cake were a match made in heaven!! I thought the glaze would over power the cake, but i was wrong. It added a welcoming texture and complimented the cake. My family loved it,so I am going to bake it again as a birthday cake for a oreo fanatic. I love that the cake itself has a great presentation and does look like a giant oreo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SupaGirl88
Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
EXCELLENT!! Everyone raved about this cake, it was the perfect dessert to finish our July 4th celebration. The only difference that I did was not to use the frosting, I did make it but it was way too thin, so I used a can of frosting. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States