Chocolate-Covered OREO Cookie Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Oh my gosh! This cake so good and so simple to make :) My friends love it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrscaton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
What a great cake! Being it's Christmas time, we used the candy cane oreos for the filling. We used store bought chocolate icing, and I piped a snowflake on top. Then we sprinkled some gorgeous silvery white and red sprinkles. This made a very attractive cake. To top it all off, everyone raved how good the cake was...made my day! Thanks so much for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I have made this twice now. The first time was great, but was not too pretty. The second time was much better looking. It is now my boys' requested cake for birthdays. For my son's 18th I made the Oreo cake and also a Heath Bar cake. I made the cake in a 13x9 and let it cool completely and cut in half and put the mix minus the Oreo's and now with Heath Toffee Bits...my hubby LOVES the Oreo cake and says this is even better! Thanks so much for this recipe...it is the absolute best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tlechien
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I ended up using two boxed brownie mixes and I didn't have any heavy cream so I didn't make the ganache, I just used chocolate icing. It came out really good.....but very, very rich. This would serve a lot of people because you only needed a small helping. I will make sure I have all the ingredients next time and make it as written. yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlechien

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soonergirl323
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I made this cake for a dinner party. Both adults and kids loved it! All the kids asked for seconds. I used two torte pans to make the cake. I made my own glaze with 1/4 cup butter, 2 TBLS. of light corn syrup, and 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips heated in the microwave for 1 minute and 15 seconds. I then stirred the mixture until blended. It was simple to make and looked so cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soonergirl323

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
all I can say is ....yummy:) thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was a huge hit at a birthday party (for adults!) I couldn't keep the chocolate sauce from dropping down the sides, but it didn't matter--it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was a hit with our youth group! I made it for a girl's 18th birthday and everyone loved it. I added one box of chocolate pudding mix to the cake mix and it made it extraordinarily moist. Also, make sure the filling is very cold before you put it on the cake or else it will spill over. I actually put mine in the freezer before putting the chocolate topping on it and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Greco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I made this for a party yesterday. I used low fat oreos, low fat cream cheese and low fat cool whip. It was easy to make and looked amazing! Everyone commented on how great the cake looked and tasted! I did crush up 4 more oreos and sprinkled them over the top of the cake while the frosting was still warm. Great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by cakebuilder
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I must admit that I didn't have a slice of this cake after baking it. I took it to a potluck party and it was gone in 10 minutes, so I assume that everyone liked it (or at least liked how it looked). I used the Wilton fanci-fill pan and filled the center with the Oreo filling (this recipe made the perfect amount for the filling, though if you want extra to decorate the top of the cake, then I suggest making an extra half of the filling recipe). I iced the cake with chocolate ganache instead of using the chocolate icing part of this recipe. As for the sugar, others commented on the sweetness of the filling so I only used a little over 1/3 cup of sugar and light cool whip and it tasted good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakebuilder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States