Chocolate-Covered OREO Cookie Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Passion4food
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This recipe is very good.......Can't justify giving it 5 stars though. If I give a 5 star rating, then it has to be really really good:) I basically just made the middle part of this recipe, because I made brownie instead of cake (which I think was a great combination!). The Oreo mix is really nice, but next time I would add more Oreo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
easy to make, wonderful taste and presentation. did not use the glaze in this recipe, used the glaze from chocolate bundt cake glaze as other had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Made this as a request for my husbands birthday. It turned out very good! It was really thick with the 2 round cakes and the filling. Probably close to 12 inches high! Difficult to cut, but excellent to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angeldae23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Drayton Valley, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
YUMMY! I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I used this more for the filling than the cake as a whole...but boy was it good!! I spread it between two devils food cakes and instead of the chcolate on top I covered the whole thing in buttercream to be able to decorate it for my son's birthday and it was a hit...much like the Oreo cake you can get @ Albertsons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andibear

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jm6158
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Simple & delicious. My husband loves OREOS & was thrilled with the cake. I followed the directions exactly & it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
wasnt anything spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffjergy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Center Point, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I have made this cake about half a dozen times. It is definitely one awesome cake. When I do make it I totally eliminate the sugar that's in the middle part - I'm not big on sugar and don't like things to be super sweet, besides, there's plenty of sugar in the cookies. I still get rave reviews and people asking for the recipe. The one thing I would recommend is to put the ganache frosting on one layer of the cake while it's still on the rack AFTER it's cooled completely and BEFORE you put it on top of the cake over the creamy middle. *MAKE SURE THE FROSTING/GANACHE IS COMPLETELY COOLED BEFORE LIFTING IT TO PUT IT ON THE CAKE.* I have put it in the refrigerator - rack and all - to help harden and cool it. (You might want to put newspaper down to catch the chocolate drippings.) I have found this to work best because on a few different occasions I put the frosting on after assembling the cake and it tends to crack the top, making the top of the cake fall apart and look like a mess. Still tastes great, though and one you have to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Delicious cake! Can't go wrong with Oreos and cream cheese-it's the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This cake seriously needs to be submitted to that website for extravagantly bad-for-you-but-delicious-concoctions which shall remain nameless. It is, essentially, an entire no-bake cheesecake stuffed between 2 chocolate cakes, with half a box of Oreos in the middle, and the centers from a box of truffles on top. That's what it boils down to. My husband is so proud, he took a picture to share with all his friends. This is delicious! I used extra Oreos in the filling to make it prettier. I don't like the frosting from this recipe. It tastes good, it looks good, but this cake has to be stored in the fridge, and that stuff sets up *so* hard that cutting the cake revealed a huge-fault line down the middle of my cake. Crrrack! The solution, of course, is to take the cake out of the fridge an hour or so before you plan to serve it, and the cream cheese will have stabilized the Cool Whip enough to do that, but still...I think next time I'd use "Satiny Chocolate Glaze" from this site instead. Thank you for a wonderful birthday cake for my husband! (P.S. I cut down on the sugar in the filling to 1/3 cup and could go to 1/4 cup as the Oreos themselves contribute quite a bit of sweetness, and I prefer a slightly more savory filling when it comes to cheesecake type filling!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States