Chocolate-Covered OREO Cookie Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This is, HANDS DOWN, the BEST cake you will ever make! I am not a chocolate lover, but holy wow this is awesome. The flavors blend together to create pure perfection. Aside from all of that amazingness, it's incredibly easy to prepare and FUN for the kids help with! I made this for my husband's birthday, who loves Oreos, and am making it again today for my Dad's birthday, who loves chocolate. Can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Wow this cake is DE-LIC-OUS!!!!!!!!! Very very good had it for my birthday and it was moist and the oreos are SO good! defenitely would recommend this one!!!! didnt use the glaze but just frosted it and used the leftover baked cake and leftover oreo filling to make little sandwiches...so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvlemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: Springville, California, USA
Photo by Passion4food
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This recipe is very good.......Can't justify giving it 5 stars though. If I give a 5 star rating, then it has to be really really good:) I basically just made the middle part of this recipe, because I made brownie instead of cake (which I think was a great combination!). The Oreo mix is really nice, but next time I would add more Oreo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
easy to make, wonderful taste and presentation. did not use the glaze in this recipe, used the glaze from chocolate bundt cake glaze as other had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Made this as a request for my husbands birthday. It turned out very good! It was really thick with the 2 round cakes and the filling. Probably close to 12 inches high! Difficult to cut, but excellent to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angeldae23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Drayton Valley, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
YUMMY! I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I used this more for the filling than the cake as a whole...but boy was it good!! I spread it between two devils food cakes and instead of the chcolate on top I covered the whole thing in buttercream to be able to decorate it for my son's birthday and it was a hit...much like the Oreo cake you can get @ Albertsons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andibear

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jm6158
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Simple & delicious. My husband loves OREOS & was thrilled with the cake. I followed the directions exactly & it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
wasnt anything spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffjergy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Center Point, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I have made this cake about half a dozen times. It is definitely one awesome cake. When I do make it I totally eliminate the sugar that's in the middle part - I'm not big on sugar and don't like things to be super sweet, besides, there's plenty of sugar in the cookies. I still get rave reviews and people asking for the recipe. The one thing I would recommend is to put the ganache frosting on one layer of the cake while it's still on the rack AFTER it's cooled completely and BEFORE you put it on top of the cake over the creamy middle. *MAKE SURE THE FROSTING/GANACHE IS COMPLETELY COOLED BEFORE LIFTING IT TO PUT IT ON THE CAKE.* I have put it in the refrigerator - rack and all - to help harden and cool it. (You might want to put newspaper down to catch the chocolate drippings.) I have found this to work best because on a few different occasions I put the frosting on after assembling the cake and it tends to crack the top, making the top of the cake fall apart and look like a mess. Still tastes great, though and one you have to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

Sassy Tailgate Sandwiches

See how to make sassy ham-and-cheese sandwich appetizers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States