Chocolate-Covered OREO Cookie Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Very easy and very yummy. I followed the recipe exactly and the cake looks fantastic. The chocolate glaze is a little runny so let it sit and cool slightly before pouring over the cake. Spoon it slowly as it will drip down the sides. I always add a little instant coffee granules (1-2 tsp..dissolved in hot water) to any chocolate mix (cake or brownies). The coffee compliments the chocolate well and gives a box mix something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
My friend and I were bored one day so we found this recipe on this website. As we were making it, it looked perfectly fine. But when we started to put it together, there was too much cake! The oreo mix was very small, probably more than 1/2 the size of the picture. Unless you're a pro cook, I wouldn't make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
My son wanted an "Oreo cake" for his 13th birthday, so I tried this one. All 6 boys gave this 5 stars! One of them even commented that it looked like I spent a lot of time on it. (How nice!) This looks & tastes so good, with not much more effort than just frosting. I didn't use all the chocolate & even after letting it cool for 7 minutes, it was still too liquefied & drizzled down the edges of the cake. No complaints, though. Might only use 1/2 the suggested amount next time, which apparently will be very soon! I'm also thinking about what other flavors of cake mix to use... maybe yellow? Of course it wouldn't like an Oreo, but as long as it tastes good : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jmvel3
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I made this for a friend of mine last night and it came out great and tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Plainfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I made this for a get together and it was very tasty...a little heavy, but good. Devil's food cake is a little dry for my husband and I so I used regular chocolate cake mix instead. The chocolate topping was good but next time I will make with milk chocolate chips instead of semi sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelly
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This recipe was great. I made my own devil's food cake and turned them into heart mini cakes for a party but other than that I changed nothing. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
10 Stars!! I make this alot its my families Favorite!!requested on ever Birthday.I do add alot more oreos and i always make a homemade chocolate cake from this site (dark chocolate cakeII) Delicious! make this you wont be sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Where did all the reviews for this go before 2012? This has been my DH's birthday cake since 2009. It's fantastic, I use less sugar in the filling as per my preference. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I made this for Christmas, it was big hit! I didn't use chocolate cake though, I made with white batter cake my family thought it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gimmymore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inkster, Michigan, USA
Living In: Romulus, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States