Chocolate Covered Orange Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Cute looking, easy, but not very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianon Petkau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I was a little skeptical about these at first, but they were a huge hit at Christmas. I will say though, these balls a decadent and very sweet I followed the recipe pretty much exactly. When it came to dipping the balls in chocolate I let some dry according to the recipe and froze other balls since I had used that technique when making peanut butter balls. Surprisingly, the dried balls were actually easier to dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I just tried this recipe, it was a real hit. I was wondering if you could use cherry juice to change them up ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
All together a good recipe. I did have to add more orange juice for my taste but all together very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
These taste AWESOME but... the texture didn't do it for me. These were more cake like balls than cookie balls. I put them in the freezer for a couple of hours to firm them up before I coated them, that made it a lot easier. This makes a lot more than what the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I liked these very much, although I'm not so sure my friends and B&B guests did. This recipe makes A LOT so be prepared to have a lot of time to make them and get them dipped and set (if you want to do it all at the same time). I do suggest having the paper candy cups (buy them at Michael's) ready for a nice presentation. All in all, I will make these again, but won't do it every year, too time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Thanks for all the great "helps" I added 3 tablespoons of shortening and used the fork method. Which really helped coat all 50 of my orange balls very nicely. I wish I had used that method on my peanut butter balls I made the previous day. It is a little sweet, but generally a nice flavor. Next time I will add grated orange peel or perhaps some orange flavored liqueur to jazz them up. I coated with milk chocolate chips, next time I think like others suggested I will use a darker chocolate i.e less sweet. I did add some toppings while the chocolate was setting. Some with colored sprinkles, some with grated dark chocolate and some with finely chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
WOW These were a hit at our Halloween Bash, but sure were STICKY in the maken...I ended up placen in freezer for a few minutes so that I could roll properly...Thank You...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
For years my mother has been looking for an orange chocolate and this fits the bill! She tried one and had to make a batch of her own. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
these turned out reeeeeally good! i was a little worried at first because the orange mixture was so moist but somehow it works. i like to keep them in the freezer and thaw them for a few minutes before serving. gave them as gifts to 2 friends and they were a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States