Chocolate-Covered Marshmallow Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
These things are too good! I had no intention of frosting them so I added an extra 1/8 cup of white sugar and an 1/8 cup brown sugar. I used all purpose flour too. I topped half the cookies with coconut crusted marshmallows. I also happened to have sour cherries in the fridge which are just AMAZING on top the cookies I topped with regular marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vela
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Loved this recipe. Made this just to try out before I make for Thanksgiving and now I definitely will use it. I did substitute the shortening for butter as others suggested and was very pleased with the results. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Breanna W.
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Wonderful cookies! They are almost brownie/cake like in texture and taste. We added salted peanuts to the dough before baking. We topped the cookies with three mini marshmallows and an upside-down Hershey kiss at 8min of baking and then baked 4min longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
hey its great!!! if your like me...and dont like chochlate... then leave off the frosting!!!! it tastes just as good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
These are delicious, soft, gooey cookies. My kids loved them, and they really weren't hard to make at all. The marshmallows melted down perfectly, and the frosting was a great topping. I did use butter instead of shortening and omitted the nuts for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I was disappointed with the taste of these cookies. They tasted artificial; if someone had gifted them to me, I would have thought they used packaged brownie or cake mix as the base for them. It's probably because the recipe uses shortening and no butter/margarine. So that really defeated the purpose of homemade. The frosting was also too sweet, and reminded me of store-bought frosting. Overall it's okay, but if I make it again I'll use the appropriate amount to sub butter for shortening, and use a different frosting that I already like. I'm sure using the nuts would make it taste much better, but opted not to use them because my coworker is allergic to them. Great concept, but not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
When my sister and I were kids, there was a bakery that made something like this. It is absolutely nostalgic! I used all butter instead of shortening. To make mine more like I remembered, I made my cookies much bigger (six to a pan), rolled them into big balls, and then flattened them down before baking. I used jumbo marshmallows. I used evaporated milk instead of cream and also instead of butter in the frosting. This made it really runny, which I wanted. While the marshmallows were still hot but had formed a slight film, I very gently patted them down to cover the cookie. I put the frosting in a plastic bag, cut off a corner, and piped the chocolate in spirals over the marshmallow and let it drip down the sides. The chocolate melted until it was level with the marshmallow, which was very dramatic (looks like a hypnotist spiral). Once the cookies returned to room temp the chocolate hardened. These are also good FROZEN. I didn't use pecans, simply because nuts are expensive during the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.christinetyler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
this was really simple to make and REALLY yummy. the chocolate frosting is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Made several batches for Christmas- everyone raved! Due to food allergies, we altered the recipe to make it nut (omit pecans), egg (substitute 1.5 T water, 1.5 T oil, and 1 t. baking powder, mixed)and dairy (use soy milk) free. I recommend patting the marshmallows down gently with a spoon right when they come out of the oven. This makes them easier to store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Great cookie recipe! I used dark cocoa powder & 1/2 butter, 1/2 shortening instead & liked the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States