Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
These cookies are sooo good! I brought them into work and everything loved them!! I made a couple of changes. I put 1 tsp of cherry juice into the dough and doubles the amount of cherry juice in the drizzle. I also halved the drizzle, except the cherry juice, because it yeilded too much. A couple suggestions: 1. do not make an indent, just press the cherry in the center 2. add the drizzle after the cookies come out. I think they taste better the second day! I have already passed this recipe off to two others! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I am so in love with these cookies!! I made this for Christmas about 6 times. Everyone that has them wants the recipes. I can't wait until I can make them the next time and eat a couple!!! Like all cooks I made a couple changes. I use cherry extract instead of vanilla, so you will have more of the cherry taste. It really does make a difference. In the icing I use the whole cn of condesed milk, add more cherry extract and extra cherry juice from the can. I mean about 1/4 cup or more. The more you use the more cherry and chocolate taste you will get. I also put the chocolate over the cookies to bake (on that baking paper, they will make a mess), then when they are done about 15 to 20 minutes later. (they take longer to cook then stated) I let them set on pans for 3 to 5 minutes then pour more chocolate over the cookies. Let set out for couple hours or more and let cool and set. Save the extra chocolate and you can always use more if you would like. Then enjoy!! These really are now my favorite cookies now!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ruston, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
These are great! I've been making a similar recipe from the BH&G cookbook for years. My only complaint is that there is too much frosting. I did like another reviewer suggested and added another tsp. frosting after they came out of the oven. I still have some left over, but I think it will make a nice ice cream topping! I used an 1/8 cup measure to divide the dough up and I came out with exactly 18 cookies. They are delicious with a wonderful cherry flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
These are great, but one caution no one mentioned. Do not let the frosting touch the ungreased cookie sheet! It will cook on like cement! Do save some frosting for after they come out of the oven. Keep cookies small so they don't break. Ultra yummy and attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Awesome! I honestly don't like chocolate covered cherries--I made them for my husband because he does. But these cookies were great! I added about 1/4 cup of cherry juice to the dough to make it a little more workable--it was a bit too stiff without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pharmgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This are definitely better with marshmallows instead of cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Everyone LOVES these cookies, my mom made them every Christmas when I was growing up but I had written her recipe down wrong so it didn't work but this is it. The best cookies ever (and cookies aren't my favorite thing)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaconda, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
These were pretty good. I some issues with the icing--kept having to add extra juice because it kept clumping and couldn't seem to get the right consistency. The cookie itself though is fantastic. Tastes like a moist and delicious brownie. I would never sub in marg or anything for the real butter. I am thinking about using the cookie dough recipe, omitting the cherry stuff and adding chocolate chips for a super chocolately cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
These cookies are absolutely scrumptious! Very rich and chocolately which is exactly what I was looking for. Didn't change a thing. Made these for Christmas and expect they will make it to my baking list next year! Thanks Jaime. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This cookie is probably a 5 star cookie if the recipe is followed. I took the advice of some of the reviewers and things didn't turn out so well! First-a second egg will make these cookies more cake like. I made a double batch using 4 eggs and did not like the texture of the cookie at all! Second-definately put the cherry into the cookie before baking! I tried both ways, before and after. You will get a better looking cookie if you put it in before baking. I put 1/2 cherry into the center of each cookie-no thumbprint. The whole cherry was overwelming to the cookie. Third-I iced my cookies after baking. The icing never dried- that must be the reason for baking the icing with the cookie! I made a double batch of cookies and a single batch of icing and still had way too much icing. I used a metal spoon and slowly drizzled the icing over the cookies. On my first batch of icing, I used evaporated milk-big mistake! The cookies did turn out beautiful and tasty. I'm hoping the icing will dry with time. They have been done for 1/2 hr. I will use the leftover icing as a topping for ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Margate, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States