Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
The dough tastes great (they're in the oven right now). There is WAY too much sauce. Cut it down to 25% (1/8 cup of condensed milk and 1/4 cup of chocolate chips).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Adding the extra egg makes a big difference. As does adding about 1/8c. of cherry juice to the cookie dough. Another way I make these is: You can chop up the cherries and put them right into the cookie dough. I also add finely chopped walnuts. Then make small balls and roll them in confectioners sugar. Make an indent in the cookie and fill it with the icing. Ohhh YUMM! This cookie has it ALL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
these received 2 thumbs up from all my official cookie testers. The second time I made them with white chocolate chips and it was a winner too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Loved these. Want to save money but still have great cookies? eliminate the melted chocolate/sweetened condensed milk and cut the cherries in half. Think of it with the full cherries and chocolate as great when you want almost a truffle, and if you want a cookie instead you can go lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
They are just ok. I added an extra egg to the cookie part as per a few other suggestions. The actual cookie was kind of bland. The chocolate topping definitely saved it. I added the chocolate before baking as well as after after I took them out of the oven. I'm so glad I added the second round of chocolate or I think I would have just ended up throwing the cookies out. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Pretty easy recipe and the cookies were so good. I've made this twice now and the only thing I've changed a little is the frosting. Took the advice of another poster and added a little more cherry juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Same here, I had lost the recipe. I used to make them years ago!! They are great!!! Everyone loves them!!! Especially kids!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Delicious! Very easy to make. I found dipping my finger in cocoa then making the indent easier and less sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
My husband loves chocolate covered cherries and these were great. I did follow some of the suggestions which was add an extra egg and more cherry juice to the frosting. After making half the batch I realized that you would taste more of the cherry if I cut them up in pieces and mix them into the batter so I did that for the second half of the batter. My husband liked these a bit better since they were easier to eat and got more cherry flavor in each bite. They weren't as pretty but if I took the time to frost; they would be. I also had to make the full batch of the frosting in order to frost all the cookies. GOOD recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Jo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
These turned out super yummy. But I am giving it 4 stars because I baked mine differently from the directions given. I followed the recipe for the dough as is and added in about a tbsp of the cherry juice to the dough. I then greased up a mini muffin tin and measured out 1 tbsp of dough, wrapped a cherry in it and put it into the muffin cup. Baked for the specified 10 mins and it was perfect. As soon as I took it out the oven I made an indent in the center and spooned in the fudge mixture (which I still had leftovers from) then I topped with half maraschino cherry and some sprinkles for presentation. Overall the cookie is good, I feel the chocolate flavour is good enough to match the cherry flavour. Not too rich. I immediately stored these in the freezer after reading another review about how they go bad quickly (and I got way more cookies than the recipe specifies) They are so delicious straight from the freezer. Definitely a cookie I look forward to making again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States