Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I made these at Christmastime and I'm so glad I did! They really are fabulous! My husband loves chocolate covered cherries, so these were a hit with him, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajo263

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This is the exact recipe that I have been using for years. The difference is that my recipe makes 48 cookies, not 18. That is why so many reviewers have so much of the chocolate icing leftover. I roll the dough into 48 balls, then make the depression in them for the cherry. The larger ratio of cookie dough to cherry and chocolate is probably why some reviewers think this is a bland cookie, also. The cookies should be small so you can pop the whole thing in your mouth and get all the flavor at once. Oh...BTW...you might need more than one jar of cherries depending on what size cherries they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Chocolately - Sweet - and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Overall, a good cookie. Certainly a pretty presentation! We did 2 versions: one with the cherry baked on top, the other with the cherry added after baking. A mellower flavor baked on, but not nearly as pretty. I loved how bright the cherry was when it wasn't baked, but some people might not love the flavor as much...so it's all a matter of preference. Also, we used a half cherry on each. And there is WAY more icing than you need... which can be used for other treats (ice cream topping?!?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
To be honest, these look better then they taste. They don't taste bad, just bland. I did add extra cherry juice to the frosting as well as to the cookie itself but it is still pretty bland. I'd make these again but might experiment with a different flavour extract.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I'm kinda famous for these in my x's family....tis the season? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I made these just as the recipe says except that I used half whole wheat flour and half white flour. These are my new favorite cookies!!!! I put the chocolate icing on before as well as after baking and they are so gooey and very chocolaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I added an egg for additional moistness and I think the cookies would have been too dry without it, because they still weren't as moist and chewy as I was hoping. Next time, I might use oil instead of butter. The cookies themselves were not very sweet at all, so I would not recommend omitting the frosting. I piped my frosting AFTER baking and added more cherry juice, which still wasn't quite as cherry-y as I would prefer. Since these were going to have to travel in a container with other baked goods, I added a few tablespoons of powdered sugar to my frosting mix to make it thicker. Just make sure the frosting is mixed totally smooth and lump-free prior to piping. Will make again, but I'll be making more tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
The dough tastes great (they're in the oven right now). There is WAY too much sauce. Cut it down to 25% (1/8 cup of condensed milk and 1/4 cup of chocolate chips).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Adding the extra egg makes a big difference. As does adding about 1/8c. of cherry juice to the cookie dough. Another way I make these is: You can chop up the cherries and put them right into the cookie dough. I also add finely chopped walnuts. Then make small balls and roll them in confectioners sugar. Make an indent in the cookie and fill it with the icing. Ohhh YUMM! This cookie has it ALL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States