Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I just made a batch to see if they will be added to my Christmas cookie list. After reading the reviews, I made a few changes. First I doubled the recipe. I used 1/2 white sugar & 1/2 light brown sugar. I poured about 1/2 the jar of cherry juice in & chopped the cherries, adding them to the dough and lastly I added mini chips. I skipped the frosting in this recipe and will make my own vanilla glaze so I can sprikle with red & white sanding sugar. The cookies came out very chocolatey & brownie-like. The dough was too mushy to roll into balls so I used a cookie scoop which worked out perfectly. I will add this one to my cookie list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIECOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I've made these and they are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
These were okay, very dry to mix. Think they could be pretty on a Christmas cookie tray, but really not very good. The chocolate overwhelms the cherry flavor by a lot, and is barely noticeable. Doubt I'd make again. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riblet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
everyone loved these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I was looking for a new cookie recipe that would contain cherries, since they are a favorite of my husband's. I made the recipe exactly as is, and was so surprised that the frosting didn't run all over while baking on the cookie. The cookies were delicious; I believe they will be requested again very soon. Since there was leftover frosting, we refrigerated it and reheated at a later date, using it as a fondue with fresh berries. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I really wanted to like this. The pictures looked great. I thought to make only 1/2 of the fudge on top, and I wish I did because only half would fit on all of the cookies. I tried to do the drizzle technique, but it took a little too much effort to keep it thin enough to drizzle. I scooped the chocolate fudge on top in a tsp. increment, as suggested, and it had a very strange appearance with the 2 chocolate color variations and the bump in the middle from the cherry. Maybe, I am weird, but these resembled a body part to me. They were going to to go to a work office and I decided not a good idea. I didn't want any possible office discussion. Even if it is a little extra effort go for the chocolate drizzle to help with these appearance wise. The cookie does not need all that fudge anyway, they are already waaaayyy too SWEET! They were like eating uncooked brownie batter, in the center, finished off by sugary gritty grains in the mouth. I did cook them the full 10 minutes to and they appeared to be done on the outside. I guess I am really in the minority on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
fantastic! almost like a chocolate covered cherry piece of candy. We are in a motor home and stay in a park in Texas. I baked these for bingo and my neighbor told me not to take them. They're too good. She actually wanted to buy them from me. Needless to say, I gave her some. I didn't take them to Bingo. She said they are her favorite cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Yummo!!! Just like the kinds I used to make with mom!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHUNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Yum! My 10-year-old doesn't fancy the cherries, but everyone else thought it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Farnborough, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Added cherry juice to dough, with a little extra flour. Cut the frosting in half. don't drizzle with choc. until baked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States