Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
This recipe turned out great. I wasn't expecting much as this was my first attempt at anything like this, but the chocolate covered cherries taste just like the ones you buy from the store. I had some difficulty handling the dough at first, but I devised a method of wrapping the cherries and from then on it was fun (if a little time consuming). I have to remind my sister the cordials are gifts for others and not just herself. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
IF YOU HAVE A TON OF TIME THESE ARE FOR YOU!!! THEY'RE VERY TIME CONSUMING AND IT TOOK 5 CUPS OF CHOCOLATE CHIPS SO HAVE PLENTY ON HAND.TRIED ONE AND THEY'RE VERY SWEET.IT'S AN O.K. RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
What a mess! Recipe didn't bother to mention that the moment you remove the cherries from the freezer they begin to melt. After the first 10 were chocolate coated, the rest were oozing masses of goo. I had to throw them - as I did with the recipe. Big waste of time and even bigger waste of money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Excellent! I made these for a party and what a hit. next time I'm going to halve the "dough" and use one jar of cherries. I would reccomend coating your hands with powdered sugar when you get ready to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Great recipe. Whoever had problems b/c she melted butter with the chocolate -- NEVER melt butter with chocolate. You MUST use shortening. The high water content (20%) makes the chocolate freeze up and you'll ruin the entire batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
These are wonderfull! A new Christmas must have. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
This was such a great recipe. The first time that I've ever made chocolate covered cherries! It made a perfect christmas gift! The dough was at first a little hard to handle, but after it settled, it molded into the cherry fine. A whole lot more chocolate is needed though than what is called for. Other than that, what a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
Tasty, but they took FOREVER to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
This recipe is great! I've never made chocolate covered cherries before. I was very pleased with the results. I thought the dough would be hard to work with, but it wasn't at all. I drained the cherries and then patted them with paper towels to remove excess moisture. The only problem is that I used at least twice the amount of chocolate that the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
To the reviewer who had problems with the fondant sticking to their fingers, try using powdered sugar on your hands and any work surfaces, like you would use flour for bread or cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States