Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Wow...just like the store bought cherries! I took some home for Thanksgiving and my mom would not share! I think next time I am going to try adding Chocolate to it for a Chocolate fondant. And they freeze wonderful! Great for Christmas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Double YUM! You can easily cover 6 jars of cherries with the amount of fondant, and I needed 3 bags of chocolate chips for 3 jars of cherries. These are delicious, and they have been added to my list of annual treats to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This recipe..yes, is time consuming..So, if you want something quick..just buy them. But, they are worth the time. They taste awesome. The only thing I will do differently next time is to wrap the cherry thinly with the fondant and leave the stem on. Very, Very GOOD! I gave it four stars because the measurements were alittle off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
My family loves these. They are a little time consuming but well worth it. I make them every year at christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
I did not have a problem with the mess. I did half the fondant recipe but I used a small cookie scoop to portion the fondant and halved that, one scoop=2 cherries. I put powdered sugar on my counter and my hands to prevent sticking. I also used milk chocolate cand coating mixed with semi-sweet choc. chips to coat. I did freeze the cherries before and after wraping. They turned out great, not to sweet and the coating turned liquid within the chocolate just as it said it would! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Rice Bittner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
5-star taste, 4-star rating because of excess fondant quantity. Scaled to 16 servings to = one 10 ounce bottle of stemmed cherries. 4 ounces of confectioners sugar = 1 cup. Also, easy to do chocolate in microwave on 30 second bursts--no need for double boiler. You will need WAY more chocolate than recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Living in Saudi Arabia you can’t find chocolate covered cherries so when my father was visiting – I tried making these. They are time consuming and you need to allow at least a week to allow them to age but so worth the effort! Here are my best pointers: 1) drain and blot dry the cherries, then freeze them on cookie sheets. 2) Divide the fondant into four equal pieces and then after lightly dusting it, roll it onto an arm’s length piece of wax paper that you will fold in half. Then turn the fondant over and dust it on the other side so that it won’t stick and place between the two sheets of waxed paper. Stack the layers in the fridge. 3) Take out 10 – 20 cherries from the freezer and use a 2” biscuit cutter to get the right amount of fondant. MAKE SURE THE CHERRY IS SEALED WELL and then freeze the fondant rolled cherries overnight. 4) When you are ready to dip them, take them out 10 – 20 at a time use a good quality semi sweet chocolate. (Candy dipping tools makes it easier although I've used chopsticks before I had those...) Place in the freezer for 15 minutes and then paint the bottom with chocolate again to seal in the fondant. You might need to “repair” other places that were not covered by the chocolate to keep the cherries from oozing. I then allow them to freeze overnight and then place them on the counter under saran for 1 week after giving my family the “don’t you dare touch them” look. I will redip them after the week to make them look fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
Time consuming work, but you won't be disappointed. They look like what you buy in the store, but more yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
Very good and easy to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
INCREDIBLE! I followed the instructions exactly (although I needed extra chocolate for dipping) and then froze the leftover fondant for the next time I crave this treat. My brother-in-law is a trained chef and he was even impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolate Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States