Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I found that wearing vinyl disposable gloves lightly spritzed with baking spray with flour (from aldi) makes the dough much easier to handle. I love this recipe, I only use 4 tblsp of corn syrup though. I drain the cherry juice and marinate the cherries with 1 tsp. almond extract and 1/2 tsp. orange extract (or orange liqueor) overnight in the refrigerator. I drain the extract liquid into a little cup and put it in the dough mixture before I roll the cherries in it. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
A big hit! I gave them to a friend as a gift. She seemed impressed..and she's a tough cookie. I had fun making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Very delicious! Best tips for making this recipe: After preparing the fondant mixture,form into small balls. Keep most of the fondant in the fridge to stay cool while wrapping the cherries. Use the bottom of a glass to press fondant balls, wrap the fondant, around the cherry and place back into fridge. When dipping the cherries in chocolate, dip them two separate times to prevent the cherry juice from leaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristiAnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
If I could I would give this recipe a zero. It was a mess! the cherries didn't even turn out right, a few did but most did not. I should have cut this batch in half but I didn't. The results don't justify the mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Awesome!!! Just like the ones my mom used to make when I was little! I bought the cherries with the stems too, and that made it sooo much easier dipping in the chocolate. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
We use this recipe for the dough but it works much better to use a dipping chocolate for coating. Also, the trick is to freeze the cherries before wrapping them in the dough...it makes the process much easier. Then chill the wrapped cherries before coating. We make 150 to 175 cherries with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kirklin, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
THIS RECIPE WAS AWESOME! Read the other reviews for quick tips but I made them without reading reviews and they still turned out, friends are hounding me for the recipe. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I quit wrapping cherries when I had 130 wrapped. I still have some dough in my freezer. Luckily I had the extra chocolate chips for all the extra cherries. Giving it a 4 because the doughm, cherries and chocolate just dont add up correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nena
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I made these cherries yesterday and they ended up being too sweet! Also, the dough was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Overall, very good. There was too much fondant, but half wasn't quite enough. Be very careful to dry the cherries well. If they stay a little wet, the fondant won't really stick, and the chocolate really won't stick. I'd leave the shortening out of the chocolate. I had trouble with the chocolate just not sticking to the fondant-covered cherries. If there is a hole in your chocolate coating, the fondant will leak out once it liquefies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States