Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Will make again! These were a Christmas tradition at my house growing up so it was fun to try to make some. Not hard, but is an act of love and takes some time so skip if your in a hurry. I followed recipe exactly with one exception. I marinated half of the cherries in amaretto. These marinated cherries seemed to be easier to work with then the plain ones. I agree with others that there is way too much fondant and to try to use it all would result in candy the size of goofballs or larger. You can cut this in half and still have plenty. I regulated size of fondant by using the large size of my Mellon ball scoop. I rolled this in a ball and flattened with a glass. I then used my small pastry roller to flatten out more. I wrapped this around cherry and pinched off sides then smoothed out. It gave a very nice, even coating around the cherries. I froze these for about an hour and took out in groups of ten and quickly dipped with a toothpick leaving top open like a buckeye ball (I used only two toothpicks for entire batch). I then went back and covered tops. This worked well because if I put toothpick in too deep and juice started coming out top it did not mix in with chocolate and ruin it. After they cooled in refrigerator for ten min I resealed the bottoms. Used 2x chocolate recommended and melted with wax instead of shortening as my family has done for years for a better set on chocolate. Fondant is nice and liquid after 2 days. Getting rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Make this every year. I only make two jars of cherries. The rest of the fondant I mix with coconut flavoring and coconut-freeze and dip to make homemade mounds. Or mix with pepermint and a drop or two of red coloring. Make flattened discs and dip. Peppermint patties! Yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Too much fondant for amount of cherries listed. When allowed to set for a couple of weeks to liquify, these are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
had a great time making these with the grandkids. Placed in ice cube trays to freeze, taking out 1 tray at a time to dip in the chocolate. did have to double the chocolate amt to make it work out. Had extra fondant which we rolled out between sheets of waxed paper, chilled for a while then spread it with peanut butter, rolled it up, then chilled and sliced for an extra treat. yes my kitchen was a mess, but the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I couldn't get the dough to thicken so I was unable to "knead" it, no matter how much powdered sugar I added. What a waste of ingredients! I'll just buy chocolate covered cherries from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
My centers never got liquid-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
These were sooooo delicious. I tried making them last Xmas with a different recipe and I ruined them because I added too much was to the chocolate. I love this recipe. Very Yummy. I added a bit of cherry juice to the fondant centers for a bit of flavor. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
It does NOT form dough, it is impossible to form them around the cherries, and IF you can, it just melts when you remove from freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xxpinkicexx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
INCREDIBLE!!!!!! A labor of love for sure, but an excellent addition to my christmas candy roster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. Some of my tips would be...I only used 2 jars of cherries, so I did about 2/3s of the recipe. I could have used a little more fondant. I had about 1 doz cherries left without fondant. 2 jars equals about 100 cherries. The chocolate is way off. I used about 5-6 cups of chocolate. I slightly dried the cherries on a paper towel and I did soak in a rum overnight, too. I didn't have any trouble with the fondant sticking to my fingers, but rubbed butter on them ever couple cherries. My cherries didn't have stems, so I froze them with toothpicks in them. I found it easy to take a few cherries wrapped in fondant out of the freezer at a time, like other people had said. I used the toothpick to dip them in the chocolate, shook off the excess chocolate by tapping toothpick on side of bowl. When I set down on the wax paper, I slid the toothpick off. Then I dipped the toothpick back in chocolate and smoothed it over the hole it left in the top. It made a fancy swirl that really impressed my kids!! My 4 year old loved licking the chocolate off all the toothpicks when I was done! I went back after a couple days and checked the bottoms for leaks. I only had a few. I just swirled a little more chocolate on and set to dry! These are perfect!! I can't wait to give as gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States