Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 2, 2003
These cherries are really good. I used the ones with stems as they were easier to dip. They do make huge candies, though, and I wound up with more fondant than cherries. Next time I will buy twice as many cherries & not put so much fondant around each cherry to make them smaller. My father's comment was, "I think I will try one of these chocolate covered pears!" I also used dark chocolate Wilton candy melts to dip the cherries in. There were definately a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
PROS: Tastes like store bought. Makes very large candies. Flavors meld nicely when stored for a week and the centers turn runny. Yum! CONS: Very time consuming...altho, I used chocolate flavored almond bark for the coating which saved some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
WOWOW! Awesome recipe! I drained my cherries and soaked them in brandy for 1 wk, drained them again and lay them on paper towels while I wrapped them in the dough. It is easier to dip them in the chocolate if you freeze them solid and just pick them up by poking them with a tooth pick, after the cherry is covered just use a spoon to pop it off and drizzle a little chocolate on top to cover the hole. Letting them sit will liquify the dough...YUMMY!! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This is a great recipe, but I combined it with another one that I found so I'll let you know my helpful tips. I used the maraschino cherries that have the stems still on them, it made it so easy to dip them in chocolate. Plus people will know that they are homemade. You use less chocolate this way as well. I still used slightly more chocolate than the recipe called for, but not much more as you can shake them off a little bit by holding onto the stem and spinning them. I also soaked my cherries in Taylor's Port for a couple of days before hand. This makes them a delicacy. The alchohol combines with the fondant that you wrap around the cherries and makes a great cordial. It also cuts down on the extreme sweetness of the fondant. This recipe would not have been as good without it. I wrapped my cherries in the fondant and then froze them on a cookie sheet for a couple of days before dipping them, that way they were good and hard. I had no trouble with them melting. To wrap the fondant around the cherries with out it sticking to your fingers, it is best to spray your hands with nonstick spray several times throughout the process. It is also good to blot the excess moisture off the cherries with a paper towel after draining them from the Port. I tried dusting my hands with powdered sugar too, and that didn't work as well as the spray. After these were cooled, I arranged them in little foil cups like miniature cupcake cups and placed them in Candy boxes that you can
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
These are time consuming, but AWESOME! My husband has always liked chocolate covered cherries so I decided to try these, YUM! I may not be a skilled dipper, but I used twice as much of the chocolate sauce for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
These are worth the time .... great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
These were good but kinda sweet.I had trouble dipping them because the dough kept melting,so I used the corn-on-the-cob-sticks and stuck them in the cherries and spooned the chocolate over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
These taste great! I needed more chocolate and added a little more shortening to thin the chocolate a bit, but they turned out very well! I found that the easies way to dip them in the chocolate is to skewer them and dip then gently tap off the excess. Be sure to spray your hands with nonstick spray before rolling the cherries in the dough, it makes life alot easier. They aren't difficult to make and are already a new holiday favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Yum, these turned out deliciously delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Absolutely wonderful recipe!! It does take some time to make but it is definitely worth it!! Make sure you have extra chocolate on hand because you will need it!! Also I placed the covered cherries on baking sheets in the freezer to set before I covered them in chocolate, which made it easier to keep up with them before they started to melt. Definitely a yummy recipe. If you like the store bought chocolate covered cherries, you will love these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States