Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I read many different recipes before trying my hand at making chocolate covered cherries. They're my Dad's -FAVORITE- and I decided to make them from scratch this year instead of buying them (which has been a Christmas tradition ever since I can remember). This recipe ROCKS. He absolutely loved them (and I can honestly tell you he is VERY picky about his chocolate covered cherries! -and would have been honest about what could have been done differently 'next time' to make them better). **My advice for making them (I read a VERY complex review before making them and thought it would take me a whole day just to put them together...) however, my success (which came without the ultra-complicated procedure) was guaranteed with this recipe (it's really, really easy-just a little time intensive when wrapping the cherries). Hints: *Do start with a pan that will fit in your freezer, lined with Parchment Paper* 1. Always use REAL butter (nothing is like REAL butter- nothing). 2. Don't let your cherries dry out like crazy dry before you wrap them. Make sure the outside is really dry so the 'dough' will wrap around it well, but the juice that's still inside the cherries lends to the 'liquification' process that happens in the next few days. 3. Don't use a huge amount of dough around each cherry. I found that using about 1/8 inch (and of course, I'm NOT measuring...just eyeball it & don't pack it on like a golfball :) this stuff is really rich -and delicious- but RICH...and yo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
The confection for this recipe did not have a good flavor....My Mom used to make these and they were delicious...I tried to find her recipe but couldn't..I won't use this one aghain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Very pretty and very time consuming. Mine did not liquify - fondant stayed solid. I think they would be better if it would have turned to liquid. Taste was great and made everyone think I was a super-cook. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
These taste great! My only dissapointment is that the fondant has not turned to liquid like people say it will. I've had them stored for two weeks now, and it's still white fondant surrounding the cherry. Any one know how long it takes for them to liquify? Still, they are very tasty. I had to dip them twice for the bottoms to get completely covered with chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROCKETMOMKD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Exellent! Very time consuming but i was suprised at how pretty they looked on my first try. A few tips: spray your hands with cooking spray to keep it from sticking to the white dough. Also once you have wrapped the cherries, freeze them before dippng them in chocolate. Makes them so much easier to dip. To dip them, i found it easiest to use a different toothpick for each one. I put the toothpick in them, rolled them in the chocolate and placed them on a cookie sheet with the toothpick still in. I put them in the freezer again and then removed the toothpicks. I found it was easier to make them stay up this way and most of the chocolate got covered and looked quite pretty. Much more chocolate is also needed then it calls for. Overall, very time consuming but so tasty!i probably won't make them again for a long time as i dont have that much time to devote to making food...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
good flavor!needs some modifications though, the fondant needs to be rolled out thin between wax paper then wrapped around cherry-makes for a more uniform appearance (not golf ball sized) and the chocolate dip sauce came out spreading just enough to ruin the appearance, so i quickly switched to the micro melt choc found in your produce dept next to the fruit. also freezing does make it easer to work with. the "melt factor of fondant started on day 2 however it is so thick i doubt it will liquify by day seven..thinner fondant quicker liquify and hard to tell from the boxed version i had sitting next to them, of course doing comparison tasting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This recipe is AWSOME! I made it for valentines day and was greeted with rave reviews. After reading several other reviews I used the idea to soak some of the cherries for 24hrs in different kinds of alchohol such as rum, cognac and port, then made mixed boxes as gifts (Hint: use white chocolate to create identifying marks on each flavor). Since it was only about 4 days from creation to consumption the centers hadn't completely liquified but no one minded; however, I will definately make them further in advance next time. I agree the fondant should be cut in half and the chocoate doubled (at least). I also rolled out the fodant between wax paper to 1/4" thick and used a 1 inch round cookie cutter to get the perfect uniform amount of filling. This one will be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Herekittykitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
These were very good, but a little difficult to make. I took the advise of another reviewer and froze the fondant and the cherries. That made the process a lot easier, but it was still time consuming. I also used a fraction of the fondant that the recipe called for. I made three types: semi-sweet chocolate, white chocolate, and cherry-flavored chocolate. I brought them to work for Valentine's Day, and disappeared quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This is truly a wonderful recipe. It makes a lot more than the recipes states. I used milk chocolate chips. Everyone that has tried them has liked them. Can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mulvane, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I have given my children a box of chocolate covered cherries for Christmas, almost every year of their lives. Thought it would be neat to make them homemade this year. These are definitely more fun to make it if you make it a two-person job & add a glass of wine onto the ingredient list. ;o) I drained my cherries, patted them dry & then layed them out on a parchment paper covered baking sheet & froze them for a couple of hours. Then I made up the fondant (cut recipe in half if you don't want extra for later), wrapped the cherries & then froze overnight. I only pulled a dozen or so out of the freezer at a time to dip (I did use stemmed cherries...very easy to dip). I used ghiradelli double chocolate dipping chocolate & just kept it over a double boiler while we dipped. Drizzled a bit of ghiradelli white chocolate over all once they were dry. Hubby wasn't as conscientious as I about using a thin layer of fondant so next time I might enlist the help of someone else or do it myslef. LOL You really do need to be careful & avoid excess or it's like "find the cherry in the fondant". I saved the remainder of the fondant & I think I will use it w/ some cherries soaked in brandy or port as suggested by some reviewers. Can't wait to give these to my kids...thanks Kathy Nowell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States