Chocolate Covered Cherries II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
This is the best recipe I've found. It has made a great hit every where I brought them. Thanks Brenda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I taught a class for children's cooking and we did this recipe with 15 children. It was quick and so easy, all the kids loved it. Lots of smiles and sticky fingers... Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
These are great! I have made them for Christmas gifts this year, and have sampled some myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSMORIN81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
I made these several weeks ago and they were just fantastic. I am going to make them again in the next week and give them away as part of the cookie trays that I am making. Alot of work but so, so well worth it! Thank you for another winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
These are sooooo good! I just finished them up about half an hour ago and couldn't resit trying them. Yum! I made half of them with milk chocolate and half with white chocolate for a bit of variety. One thing I learned, when you heat up the chocolate, take it off of the heat or else it'll burn. Haha. I can't wait to give them to my mom who absolutely loves chocolate covered cherries. I'm sure they'll be even better in a week and a half. Thank you so much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
These are better than store bought. My grocery store only had 10oz jars of cherries, so I bought two. The cherries were pretty small, so I was able to yield about 35 to 40 cherries out of the recipe. Also, I didn't have any almond extract, so I used vanilla. I made these on a Wednesday for Mother's Day that Sunday so they could sit for a few days and almost ate all of them. I will definately pass on this recipe. ***Warning*** I can't remember which brand of margarine I used the first time I made these, but the dough comes out different depending on the brand of margarine. Land of Lakes comes out pretty sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
I have made these for Christmas gifts two years in a row, and they turn out very well! It's worth the effort if you are a chocolate cherry lover, and it can be a fun assembly line candy to make with a friend. They really do need to sit for a couple weeks, though, to get that nice liquidy inside-- otherwise it's just a cherry wrapped in sugar paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Made these for my New Year's Eve Party. Although VERY sticky to make, they came out great and fans of chocolate covered cherries loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Very good and not too hard to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I have made these covered cherries for years now. If they are "gooey" drop some powdered sugar on them, or coat your fingers. Flower turns to a paste, so the cherries center won't melt down as they should. As for the coating, regular candy melts are the most sturdy. Tips on chocolate, 1. rapidly chill it, it stays shiny. It will look dull if hardened at room temerature (but DON'T over chill it, it will crack!). 2. NEVER melt directly on the stove! use a double broiler or in 30 second increments in a microwave, stirring in between segments (don't use glass bowls, plastic only) 3. Avoid moisture, water or condensation at all costs! It will make your chocolate thick and clumpy, not good to use or look at! 4. Whitish or "dusty" looking chocolate is not spoiled! It simply melted and reset too slowly. Thanks for sharing a splendid recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turlock, California, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States