Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I never use dipping chocolate because I think it tastes "fake". I melt semi-sweet chocolate, temper it, and dip the cherries (after letting them sit in the fridge for several hours). Messy, but this is the candy everyone wants me to make every Christmas! Even my mom....and that's saying something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
THIS is what I have been searching for! I haven't tried it yet but I have some maraschino cherries soaking in brandy as I type awaiting for the perfect recipe ot make chocolates with! I usually just drain them, let them dry then dip them in chocloate. While they are good just like that Ive been wanting to find a nice creamy center to add to it! Unfortunately the store did not have the stemmed ones so I bought the ONLY kind they had. But I have a chocolate mold perfect for cherry type candies. I will fill the mold with the chocolate, let it harden, add some of the dough inside add the cherry and add more dough to secure the cherry nicely then cover the bottom with chocolate. This way too should take care of the leaky bottom problem! Will post results when I make these! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
super easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I'm a Baker and have been using a recipe very similar to this for years. The only difference is that I add about 1 tsp of the Cherry Syrup to the sugar dough. I find that it adds more flavor to the final product. In my experience, You really must keep the dough refrigerated, I usually have time to make about 10 before putting it back in the fridge (for about 7-10 minutes). Also, when wrapping the cherries in the sugar, smush it in kinda roughly, and then roll it in your hands to even it out. That creates the nicest result. And when I do mine, sometimes I use cherries without stems. When doing this, you need to have wire tongs to dip it into the chocolate, but the overall result is the same. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by mommytron
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
i have made a very similar recipe to this before. they were a hit but when i went to make them i couldn't find my recipe. i found this one and it sounded the same, so i gave them a shot. i bought 4 jars of about 32 cherries..so about 120 cherries and doubled the filling recipe. i used a pound of the chocolate coating (almond bark) and a bag of semi-sweet chips with a Tbsp of shortening for the chocolate dip. they came out beautifully, i tried a couple of them, the taste is great, we'll see how they turn out in a couple of weeks! i'm hoping for a nice liquid-y center like the last recipe i used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
So glad I decided to finally make these this year. My husbands aunt makes them every year and they are my favorite! A little time consuming, but not bad either. Very easy for the most part. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I have been making chocolate covered cherries for years. Last year I tried something a little different and I soaked the cherries overnight in bourbon to give them a slight liquor flavor. I'm not a bourbon drinker but these were eaten up very quickly. Excited to let this new batch "ripen" to see if the filling is nice and soft. Recipe was very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winfield, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
these chocolate covered cherries were delicious! i had never made them before and they turned out amazing. they were very easy to make they were just a bit time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I loved making these! I used the "almond bark" microwave dipping chocolate, melted it in a coffee cup and dipped the cherries with a toothpick. They came out delicious and the whole family ate most of the first batch in a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I have made thousands and thousands of chocolate covered cherries (with a different recipe), and I sell them by the dozen. Just a few tips, you do not need to let them harden after wrapping them, after making thousands, I decided that was a step that was totally not necessary, I wrap them with the stem sticking out, and immediately dip in the chocolate, and put in a clear plastic mini muffin container with a paper liner, and wala, done with it. I leave the stems on because when they are on a tray with other candy, it is very obvious of what this candy is, I think it is kind of unique, and even in the mini muffin containers, it looks nice with the stems in. The wrapping won't totally turn liquid but will get juicier with time. I store them in the refrigerator, they can also be frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States