Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Super easy. What a great homemade gift, just remember they need to cure in the frige for 2 weeks to reach their full potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Overall good. The dipping into the chocolate part is alittle difficult. I can't get it to look nice and neat. Also, getting only one tsp of the dough around the cherry is hard. I would recommend freezing in between each step. But good flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I made these to give away for Valentines Day and everyone raved about how good they were but also commented on how sweet they were. I dipped mine in melted chocolate almond bark I'm thinking next time I might do semi sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
These were VERY easy to make, albeit a bit time consuming. I would probably use a mix of dark and milk chocolate to coat next time as these are almost unbearably sweet with the milk chocolate. I found the fondant mix much easier to apply by dipping my hands in cold water periodically. My kitchen was also quite cool - about 60 degrees. Definitely wait at least a day or two before eating. They just keep getting better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
EASY and SUPER! Keep in mind it will only make apx 40
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I made these to give out over Christmas, and I was bombarded with complements. People loved them. I used a good-quality bittersweet chocolate to coat, which I think contrasted with the sweet center very well. Next time I think I'll make half as-is and half with the cherries soaked in some liquer (Hazelnut, orange, bourbon, brandy, etc.) for some added boozy goodness/flavor. Thanks so much for sharing, you made me a star :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Excellent! Even though my husband could only wait a day to taste one he said they are absolutely delicious. I had to hide the rest so he didn't eat them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Riverdale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Amazingly easy and delicious. I didn't get these made early enough to sit for a week or so before my family Christmas celebration, but noone complained. My only suggestion would be to make sure the "dough" is chilled because it gets very sticky as it warms up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemaytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
These only made it a week in our house. They were ok when they were fresh, but tasted much better after a week. Next time I’ll try to hold off for two weeks so the sugar dough has more time to liquefy. I added 1/2 tsp of almond extract to the dough and I thought it was a nice touch. The dough was extremely easy to work with. I froze the dough covered strawberries for about an hour before coating. I also used Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate chips mixed with a Tablespoon of shortening for the coating and it worked great. Next time, I think I’ll soak the cherries in Kirsch and use Ghiradelli bittersweet chips for a more sophisticated variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This was pretty easy to do...the only thing I found was that there just wasn't enough fondant to cover 60 cherries (I was able to cover 47). I used one 12-oz bag of semisweet chocolate chips, which was enough to dip about 42-44 cherries--I ran out of room on my wax paper-covered cookie sheet after 42 cherries, so I ate the remaining 5 fondant-covered cherries. Yum! These were made as a gift for my father-in-law, so we'll see how he likes them (he loves his chocolate-covered cherries).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Reitz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Grange, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States