Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I made this for a Christmas party and they got rave reviews. I personally don't like chocolate covered cherries, but wanted to make something different. They are time consuming to make, but worth it according to my guests! I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
SO TIME CONSUMING, but these are very addictive. I doubled the recipe and dipped half in semi-sweet choc chips w/2 tbsp shortening and the other half in white choc. I added 2 tbsp cherry juice and 1/2 tsp almond extract to dough mixture. Was a nice addition!!!! I left the stems on, because I think they look decorative that way and they are easy for everyone to pick up! I froze cherries first, then chilled them after wrapping dough on them and then took a few out of fridge at a time and dipped in choc. Helpful hint: I rolled dime size balls of dough in palm then flattened and it wrapped nicely around cherry. Dont let dough get warm, will not wrap easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This is a great recipe because the candy comes out tasting great especially after a few days and everyone will be impressed at the christmas party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Yummy, better after a week. But they are a lot of work for what seemed like very little yeild. Only take the time if you have a true chocolate covered cherry lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, New York, USA
Living In: Clay, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is a delicious recipe. I put them on wax paper and have had no problem with the inside dripping out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
THE BEST.make sure you use the COATING and not regular chocotate, as I learned the second time i made these. Excellent receipe. THANK YOU and my son-in-law says thanks too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
WOW! These are hands down the absolute best chocolate covered cherries I have ever eaten! I have never really cared for them until now, but I wanted to make some for my husband so this recipe looked easy enough. Boy was I surprised when I bit into one of these. I can't stop eating them. I had such good results that I thought I'd share what I did: I wanted to make a big batch so I used 4 jars of Great Value (Wal-mart) maraschino cherries WITH STEMS-hint: these are not with the canned fruit, they are on the isle with ice cream toppings. I tripled the dough recipe and used 1 bag of dark chocolate chips mixed with 1 bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips and 1 TBSP shortening. This was the right amount of chocolate and dough for the number of cherries. I drained and chilled the cherries, wrapped in dough then briefly chilled before dipping them in the chocolate. I left the stems on for ease of dipping in chocolate. I let them sit overnight then pulled the stems out the next morning. Where the stem left a small hole I patched it with a dab of chocolate. Once dried, I flipped them over and used a butter knife to spread an extra layer of chocolate on the bottom to cover any thin areas where they sat on the wax paper. This took a little work but I had NO leaking and from dipping them with the stems on they had a nice even coating on the outside and looked very much like the store bought kind. Everyone that has had one has LOVED them. I will definitely make these again and aga
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
351 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dickson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I was looking for gift ideas and came across this recipe. Chocolate cherries are a family favorite, and I'm the family baker- so I thought they'd be a hit.. They were! (Didn't last till the holidays though!) Followed some tips from other reviews and came up with a few more. - a tsp. of the syrup from the jar of cherries in the powdered sugar added a nice color/flavor. - keeping everything cool is essential. Froze my cherries as was suggested, wrapped them and froze them again. I took 5 out at a time to dip. Makes them much easier to work with. -my chocolate was a little too thick to dunk the cherries in (milk chocolate/bittersweet mix) so I thinned it out with a little milk and it was still thick enough to coat them, but loose enough to dip and pull them out easily. -I found using a shotglass for the chocolate was the perfect depth to dip and roll the cherries, and the chocolate didn't harden as fast as in a bowl or dish. I kept my pot of chocolate on low heat and just added to the shotglass every 5 cherries or so. -I used a pan lined with parchment paper, wiped the parchment with a little cooking spray and my cherries didn't stick at all. -I had a butterknife on hand, and immediately filled any holes and smoothed out the cherries as I dipped them while the chocolate was still hot. Super easy recipe once all the prep work is done and my family loved them. Much better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Love these cherries. we give them as gifts every Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I made these today and they weren't very hard to make, just a little time consuming. My tip to prevent the insides from leaking: I dipped the cherries in the chocolate like you're supposed to and let them harden up on wax paper. After I finished all of them I picked them up off of the wax paper. With the ones that got stuck I touched up the holes with chocolate and set them on their sides so that part could harden. Also, when wrapping the fondant keep your hands/fingers wet. It gets very sticky. It feels slimy when your working with it but it does dry back out. I also bought the Wal-Mart band cherries and they were just fine. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dondie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Coweta, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States