Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I was not sure of this recipe as im not a huge glace cherry fan...and i was right to be unsure. I didnt like the glace cherries so I made them again with room temperture frech cherries and dried cherries. With the fresh ones...dont let them sit for 2 weeks you wont be liking the mouldy cherry but they are fantastic served the same day with coffee after dinner and the dried cherries were fanstastic as you could let them sit for a week or 2 and they retained all the flavour of a real cherry without the mould. VERY YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casino, New South Wales, Australia
Living In: Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I get rave reviews everytime I make these. To make things easier, I wrap the cherries in the sugar paste and freeze overnight. Then, I cover them in chocolate WHILE STILL FROZEN and they set more quickly. Always turn out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
These came out great! It's only been 3 days and the fondant is liquifying. I followed some of the directions given in the reviews. Freeze between steps, it really does help. They are good but still slightly off. I'm sure it's the cherries. The end product doesn't taste like the ones you buy at the store. Any suggestions as to a brand or type of cherry to use?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
These cherries are delish!!! Tough to keep around the house for two weeks but worth it! THIS IS A GREAT ACTIVITY FOR KIDS! My 8 year old son and I made many for Valentine's Day this year. I froze the cherries after quickly draining the juice out. The juicier the cherry the better. We then wrapped them and tossed them into the freezer again while we melted the chocolate. Dulci Frutta is a perfect chocolate for this recipe and for projects with kids! Last step was to drizzle a little white chocolate across the top. My son was very proud to hand these out after he had helped with every step of this recipe. We only altered the recipe by adding a small amount of the cherry juice to the fondant and then more sugar to even out the dough. Also, made Grand Marnier cherries for the adults by marinating the drained cherries for two days. SO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
These are very good. I made them last week and they have improved with age, but I'm giving them a 4 star rating because the filling is a little pasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
They are wonderful and they taste exactly like the boxed chocolate covered cherries. It takes a little time to make them, however, it is worth it. Great recipe......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
It's cold here in Illinois (everywhere?) right now so a great time for candy making. My dad gave us Brach's dark chocolate covered cherries every year for Christmas and now they don't make them. I was hoping this would be like them. I didn't have the chocolate bark so I used the little dark chocolate "buttons" I buy every year at Christmas from the local candy supply store. Also, my cherries didn't have stems but this wasn't a problem. The key is to buy the little Wilton candy dipping packet that has 3 or 4 different kinds of dipping tools. Also, DROP THESE ON A COLD WAX PAPER COOKIE SHEET - helps them set right away. Only a couple needed re-dipped. If you have a little uncovered spot on the bottom, just pick it up after setting, and re-dip just that little spot. All that being said, these are good but WAY too sweet. Update: I tried this again with the milk chocolate (same buttons from candy making store) and they are way better so I'm upgrading to 5 stars. Thanks! Another update - I tried this at Christmas with the "chocolate bark" and really hated it - yuck! Use real milk chocolate! If you can't find the candy "buttons", use milk chocolate chips. It really does make all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROSNANFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
VERY easy to make. turned out perfectly after sitting for 2 weeks. they were gone in 20 minutes. I will buy the big jar of cherries from Sam's club for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TREEGRL97

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
These were awesome! I never thought I would ever be making chocolate covered cherries. I had no idea how the liquid got around the cherry. I made these as a Christmas gift for my parents, and it was loved by all. I just used the Wilton chocolate wafers (you can get at Wal-Mart, Michaels, JoAnns) in the candy/craft baking area. I melted them in a double boiler and they were terrific. After I had dipped them, I did go back and use a knife to spread more chocolate on the bottom and laid them on their side to harden quickly. That way I was able to avoid any leaking out the bottom. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
5 stars for flavor. We made these for Christmas gifts this year and then took the leftovers to a church supper - Word got out fast and they were completely gone in no time! Our only problem was wrapping the cherry in the fondant. We ended up making them like peanut butter cups in the mini muffin pan. The shape may not be right, but nothing oozes out after they have set up and I think people liked that extra bite of goodness that they had to take!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States