Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
These are AWESOME! And way easier than I ever thought Chocolate Covered Cherries would be. I only got about 48 out if it, but I probably used a bit too much dough on the first few cherries. I only had a few that I had trouble getting the stems out of, so I kept those for myself. I gave about 30 of them out as gifts for Christmas, and everyone who received them was very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan U.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
These were very good and easy to make. I found it helpful to freeze the cherries (with the dough on them)before you dip them in chocolate so the dough won't melt off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
DO NOT USE butter with the chocolate. Keep hands cold and roll cherries in powdered sugar. Pull fondant into a flat piece to wrap. Use only fingertips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Tastes fabulous. Everyone I gave to wanted more. Surprisingly easy recipe to make, but a big crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This recipe turned out quite well, although after two weeks the filling was still not quite as gooey as I would have liked. When I made them a second time I soaked the cherries in a little bit of rum overnight. This added some extra moisture to the cherries. I also did not drain them for very long to keep more juice in the cherries. Finally I made the dough a little less stiff by adding some of the cherry juice. It made it a little harder to work with, but resulted in the inside liquifying much more readily. Maybe this was mostly a dry climate problem, but I felt like these changes made a hugh positive difference. I also used real chocolate and kept it at a fairly low temperature so it would keep its temper. This ended up putting a thicker coat on the cherries and mostly eliminated the problem of leaking out the bottom of the cherry. With the changes I just described, I would give the recipe five stars, but it was still very good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Ok so these were soooo GREAT. But I had some issues with the sugar. It was fine if it was REALLY cold but the second it warmed up (like from my hands) it just got all sticky and stuck more to my fingers than the cherries so I had a hard time getting it to form an even layer. Then of course sense it was so temerpature sensitive it melted in the chocolate if it took me too long to fish it out. Any suggestions as to why my sugar mix didnt work well?? Otherwise GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
yummy and easy...followed direction exactly! Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DCJ131

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Very smooth and great tasting. Everyone loved this dish at my employee christmas party. Out of all the many desserts, this was the one item that was entirely eaten. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stockport, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
These are better than any store bought i've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Absolutely amazing! Made these for my close friends & co-workers as part of a holiday gift box & everyone loved them. Way better than what you would buy at the store. Thanks so much for a great recipe! Will definitely become a holiday tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States