Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
tasty. make sure not to leave holes when covering with chocolate. It will spring leaks easily. Do not leave sit for a couple weeks, as they leak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
These weren't that hard to make for me! I used a bag of melted Hershey's semisweet minichips. I chilled the cherries and fondant (sp?) before wrapping them, then chilled them again on a cookie sheet covered with a layer of wax paper before dipping them, and right after dipping them I put them back on the cold cookie sheet with wax paper that had been in the freezer. It helped the chocolate set almost instantly. I had no problems with leaking and was able to mail them to my boyfriend 1000 miles away for Valentine's Day. He really likes them and so do I! I woudln't make these every week because they're a bit time consuming but they're great for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
A lot easier than i thought they would be. In two days they were the best and they were devoured by everyone. Will keep this recipe and make often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittnisue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kiele Briscoe
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
These turned out so good and were so easy to make. No one could believe that they didn't come from a gourmet chocolate store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiele Briscoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nucla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Rocky Ford, Colorado, USA
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I made these to give as gifts to my friends for Valentine’s Day. These were very good and pretty sweet. I measured the dough into teaspoons and rolled into a ball before flattening with the bottom of a glass dipped in powdered sugar. This made it a uniform thickness and was perfectly round and wrapped around the cherries nicely. I was disappointed with the chocolate not having a shine to it. Great recipe. I will make these again. 12-15-2014 update: I've made these little gems a couple times and they are way better than store bought. The teaspoon of fondant called for is the perfect amount to wrap around the cherries, much more than that and your centers may not get as gooey as you would like. Definitely best to make these 10 days - 2 weeks before you intend to devour them. Instead of using conf coating, I melt a bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips made with real cocoa butter using a glass bowl over a steaming pot of water. A good quality chocolate is key to a delicious result. I thought the semi-sweet chocolate helps to cutdown on sweetness just a tad. After dipping the cherries I put the leftover chocolate into a sandwich zip top bag, clipped the corner and drizzled the chocolate over the coated cherries to give them a prettier finished look. I do think it took more than an hour to make these. So easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
These are great! And easy too! My friends and I really enjoy eating these each year at Christmas time. I let mine sit in my pantry for a week or two and they get really nice and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
If I could give this ten stars I would. They are amazing! Alot of work but so worth the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Although these took a little more effort than I expected, they were VERY good. Choc Cov Cherries are one of my husbands' favorites, and about a week after he ate some of these I didn't feel like making them again so I bought him a box. Big mistake. The boxed ones fall so flat against these, especially if you use good chocolate. One thing - make sure you use a VERY THIN coating of the sugar dough, if it's too thick it won't soften enough, and I did keep mine in the fridge. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KY Piano Teacher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
These were much easier than I anticipated to make. I followed the directions exactly. I let them sit for over a week and they still didn't turn 100% to liquid. Maybe they aren't supposed to?? The taste was good, but I still prefer the ones from the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
made these for christmas this year, they were a big hit with everybody who was into'em. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States