Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by m
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
They're all gone! I'll have to hide them next time until they can sit for a week. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This recipe is awesome!! Although it did take me 4 days to make them beccause I a a new mommy, they are the best chocolate covered cherries I have ever had. To make it easier on myself i made the filling ahead and put it in the freezer to firm. I took 1 tsp of the chilled ( make sure its very firm) and rolled it into a ball, wrapped it around the stemless cherries and chilled till firm. I melted the chocolate in a doble broiler and lined a frozen baking sheet with mini cupcake liners I put 1/2 tsp melted chocolate in each liner then chilled till firm. Then placed chilled covered cherry on top then put 1 tsp melted chocolate on cherry and chilled until set. They have been sitting for a week now and are so juicy!! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
These were a HUGE disappointment! My family loves chocolate covered cherries so I made these for Easter. First of all, I made them a week ahead to give them time to set up. They never got gooey and the longer they sat the worse they tasted. Second, they were just a pain in the butt to make! Wrapping them and dipping them took a lot of time, plus I had to dip them twice. I will never make these again!:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
tasty. make sure not to leave holes when covering with chocolate. It will spring leaks easily. Do not leave sit for a couple weeks, as they leak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
These weren't that hard to make for me! I used a bag of melted Hershey's semisweet minichips. I chilled the cherries and fondant (sp?) before wrapping them, then chilled them again on a cookie sheet covered with a layer of wax paper before dipping them, and right after dipping them I put them back on the cold cookie sheet with wax paper that had been in the freezer. It helped the chocolate set almost instantly. I had no problems with leaking and was able to mail them to my boyfriend 1000 miles away for Valentine's Day. He really likes them and so do I! I woudln't make these every week because they're a bit time consuming but they're great for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
A lot easier than i thought they would be. In two days they were the best and they were devoured by everyone. Will keep this recipe and make often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittnisue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kiele Briscoe
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
These turned out so good and were so easy to make. No one could believe that they didn't come from a gourmet chocolate store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiele Briscoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nucla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Rocky Ford, Colorado, USA
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I made these to give as gifts to my friends for Valentine’s Day. These were very good and pretty sweet. I measured the dough into teaspoons and rolled into a ball before flattening with the bottom of a glass dipped in powdered sugar. This made it a uniform thickness and was perfectly round and wrapped around the cherries nicely. I was disappointed with the chocolate not having a shine to it. I think I will use Ghirardelli Candy Making & Dipping Chocolate next time - it tastes great, is wonderful to work with, and leaves a nice shine to the candy. It’s just hard to find unless it is Christmas time. Great recipe. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
These are great! And easy too! My friends and I really enjoy eating these each year at Christmas time. I let mine sit in my pantry for a week or two and they get really nice and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
If I could give this ten stars I would. They are amazing! Alot of work but so worth the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States