Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I have a very similar recipe. Only difference is the addition of 1 tsp. almond extract. I make these over a 2-day period. After draining I place (upside down) on a tray in the freezer for a few hours. Then I "wrap" cherries and place back in the freezer overnight. The next day I pull approx. 10 out @ a time and place a round toothpick in the center of each for dipping. As soon as the cherry is completerly covered and I let excess drip off, I place carefully on waxed paper. I immediately "twist" the toothpick out for drying and move on to the next. When dry I place in paper cups. The next morning (left @ room temp) there is sometimes a little "drop" of liquid resting on top. I think it adds a little "character" to the cherry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Fergen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I just finished makeing these. It is quite a job. Maybe I should have added a little more of the sugar so it wouldn't be so sticky, but I was afraid it would change the flavor. I havn't tasted them yet, got to let them "ripen" for a couple of weeks. I do think it is quite expensive, though, as you can buy them for $1.00 a box. Fun to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Drunken Cherries: Drain the cherry juice, let the cherries dry a bit on a paper towel, then fill the jars with Vanilla Vodka. (I also used Mango Liquor, Burbon and Brandy, in different jars.) Let them marinade for a bit, then make as the recipe says. I covered each in a different chocolate, decorated the tops with different sugars so everyone could tell which was which. They are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I don't know what everyone else did that i didn't, but this recipe just did not work out. I spent a good hour and half trying everything to make this work but the only thing that went right was the filling. I dipped my cherries in chocolate and after so many cherries, the chocolate went all weird and stiff and wouldn't melt back down. then when i finally had all my cherries dipped, i tried pulling the stems out, but then the whole cherry just popped out of the chocolate coating. The cherries tasted fine, but overall this was a horrible waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Justice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I actually have not gotten to make these yet. Do you use real butter, salted or unsalted. Do not understand why the recipes never include this information.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Made these CCC over the weekend. My fondant was 3 T butter, 2 T corn syrup and 2 cups sifted flour. Fondant made 26 covered cherries. I made this fondant again ending with 52 covered cherries. Froze cherries before wrapping fondant. Then froze fondant coverd cherries before dipping. Used 1 bag Nestles chips, 2 T shortening and 2 squares of White almond bark. Used stemmed cherries for ease in dipping. After dipped and set I pulled stem out, had to put on more chocolate to cover hole and then a little more chocolate on bottom (to prevent leaking). They are curing now. Husband tried one and said it was very good. I am going to wait a week, hoping the center is a little liquid by then. Very easy to do. Just very time consuming. I love chocolate covered cherries and tasting the fondant and chocolate, they have to be awesome delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
So easy....so sweet...great gift idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Great idea! this were awesome!! instead of using fresh cherries I used caned cherries , didn't have to wait a week! and i used 2 cups of chocolate chips. You HAVE to try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
So easy to work with!! this fondant tastes good and is so easy. I made it along side the top rated recipe from another site that called for margarine, sweetened condenser milk, and vanilla. I liked the flavor of the other one slightly better, but this one was so much easier to work with. a HUGE help came from a tip i found to FREEZE THE CHERRIES before wrapping... genius! so much easier :) excellent recipe thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Perfect! And so easy if you use the microwave dipping chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States