Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I've made several batches of the 'original recipe' and can say they are a HUGE hit with my family. I made them for Christmas, both as Christmas Eve Dessert and as a gift for my mother (who LOVES chocolate covered cherries), and everyone loved them. I followed the recipe exactly and didn't QUITE get as many out of it as the recipe calls for, but I have no complaints. The fondant is easy to make in a stand mixer, and if you don't have baker's melting chocolate, simply combine chocolate chips and shortening (2 tablespoons shortening for every 2 cups of chips, according to Ghirardelli) in a bowl and microwave until melted. Works like a charm. I'll be trying some of the "flavored" fondants next, and look forward to making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
These were good!!! Followed the advise of others and froze the cherries after I covered them with te fondant. I also put them in a paper lined mini muffin tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I found it much easier to freeze my cherries and chill the filling before putting them together, just take enough cherries out to do so they do not start to thaw, then I popped them back in the freezer to set up and dipped them in chocolate, very easy and they went together like a dream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I made these last year and they were a HUGE hit. I used the Oregon brand canned cherries and I also made a batch with blue berries. The dough is hard to work with, especially if you are impatient like I am, but in the end they are very much worth the effort. They have been requested again this year, and I cannot refuse to deliver. These are great for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I have been making these for several years, they were my mothers favorite candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This recipe is really well loved. I wanted to point out that tempering chocolate, and using a chocolate mold that is shiny/polished with a soft cloth will help real chocolate retain its shine. Anyway it seems like these candies will go fast and that is another way to solve a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kosher_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This is the same recipe my mom has always used and they are a must for my brothers work crew every Christmas. They love when its homemade candy time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Soddy Daisy, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Good Stuff Maynard !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
These were really tasty! Lots of fussy work and messy to do...but worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mauston, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Cheaper and easier to just buy a box of them. Tastes the same and the box ones look nicer. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States