Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I loved making these! I used the "almond bark" microwave dipping chocolate, melted it in a coffee cup and dipped the cherries with a toothpick. They came out delicious and the whole family ate most of the first batch in a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I have made thousands and thousands of chocolate covered cherries (with a different recipe), and I sell them by the dozen. Just a few tips, you do not need to let them harden after wrapping them, after making thousands, I decided that was a step that was totally not necessary, I wrap them with the stem sticking out, and immediately dip in the chocolate, and put in a clear plastic mini muffin container with a paper liner, and wala, done with it. I leave the stems on because when they are on a tray with other candy, it is very obvious of what this candy is, I think it is kind of unique, and even in the mini muffin containers, it looks nice with the stems in. The wrapping won't totally turn liquid but will get juicier with time. I store them in the refrigerator, they can also be frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This looks very similar to the recipe I got years ago from a Southern Living magazine. I usually mix up three batches of the "filling" one I use to make the chocolate covered cherries, the next I mix in baker's coconut, and the last I mix in mint flavoring to taste. Then you have 3 different candies. Also I usually melt 1 pkg of chocolate candy coating and then stir in a 12oz pkg of semi-sweet chocolate chips. This gives it a more genuine chocolate taste while keeping the firmness that you get from using the candy coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I was going to make these for my mother-in-law, who loves chocolate covered cherries, and they were a disaster. I made use of the freezer, added extra powdered sugar, and the powdered sugar coating was still a big gooey mess. To make matters worse, i tried to dip a few, and a glob of it fell off in the chocolate, and made it unusable. I would not make these again, sorry. The flavors were good, but not better than the store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Absolutely awesome!! This recipe is so very easy to make. Everyone loved them. Definetely will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Perfect Perfect Perfect! Don't be tempted to change ONE single thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Texas, USA
Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
great..excellent gift to give people who like chocolate covered cherries. Most people have never had them homeade, and it is an impressive gift. I am famous for these in my family now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy4876

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Memphis, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SEXYTRACKR
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
These were wonderful. A Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEXYTRACKR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamtramck, Michigan, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I love this recipe. It is a bit labor-intensive, but seeing my the look in my father's eyes everytime I present him with the fruits of this particular labor, I know it was time well-spent because he just adores Chocolate Covered Cherries and these are so much tastier than store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valery Lucien

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I just made these last night, and they look just like the picture! It took almost no time at all. I halved the recipe, and made use of the refrigerator in-between steps. By keeping the stems on the cherry while dipping, I got an almost perfect layer of chocolate. I pulled the stems out of the chocolate covered cherries after they were in the refrigerator for about 10 minutes. Only a small hole remained, and that and any cracking I covered with a drizzle of white chocolate, which makes them look extra fancy. They look so neat, I'm so excited to give them away! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States