Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I just made these for the first time. The recipe was easy to follow. The dough was a little messy to work with, you will want to make sure that you add a little oil to your hands. This made it so much better. I will be making these for years to come. They are delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I have been making these for a couple of years now. Make sure that the cherries are drained quickly but not dried and the fondant layer is thin if you want it to liquefy. Chilling between the fondant step and the dipping step helps stop leaking, otherwise take a knife and spread a little more on the bottom after the chocolate sets. I always do one jar regular and one jar where I replaced the juice with dark rum a week before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I'm guessing the 1 gallon jar of maraschino cherries with stems is about 300 to 400 cherries. I made 3 different batches with different flavours (plain, rum, almond). Each batch wrapped 50 cherries using 1 level tsp of fondant. I put each tsp of dough in between 2 pieces of waxed paper and using the flat bottom of a glass, pressed out to about 2" disc. I wrapped the fondant around the cherry and rolled between my palms, even with the stem on, then I froze. The frozen cherry was easy to dip using the stem, then I twirled the cherry to remove excess chocolate. Only 2 stems (out of 150) broke off using this method. Even when putting the dipped cherries on waxed paper on top of a frozen plate, they still needed to be double dipped on the bottom. I'll be using candy cups from now on to shorten this process. Adding shortening to pure milk chocolate will make the chocolate super soft which was OK but the cherries cannot touch each other because they'll stick together. Whoever said the juicier the cherry the better was correct. The rum batch where the cherries sat out drying the longest have a crystally sugar consistency rather than a softer juicier center. Though if the cherry is too wet it's really hard to wrap. Great recipe Meredith. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Last year i spent thirty dollars to get sugar free chocolate covered cherries for my dad for a christmas present. So this year I decided to try making these. I changed them though to make them with less sugar. I took 2 cup of Splenda and put it in the blender with 4 tb plus a little more of cornstarch and blended until fine and used in place of the powdered sugar. My dad also likes brandy, so I soaked the cherries in brandy overnight. I also found it useful to freeze the cherries after coating with the filling before dipping in chocolate. I dipped in milk chocolate. Not totally sugar-free, but less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I doubled the recipe for the fondant, and added 2 TBSP maraschino cherry juice, and 2 tsp Almond extract which made it very extra yummy!!! I dont know if they will last long enough to even get a chance to liquify, but doesnt really matter, because they are delicious as is!! I used shortening on my hands to keep the fondant from sticking to my hands, and it worked really well. I used the cherries without the stems and had no problems with leakage. Thanks for a great recipe!! These will be on my list of Christmas candy to make for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I never use dipping chocolate because I think it tastes "fake". I melt semi-sweet chocolate, temper it, and dip the cherries (after letting them sit in the fridge for several hours). Messy, but this is the candy everyone wants me to make every Christmas! Even my mom....and that's saying something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
THIS is what I have been searching for! I haven't tried it yet but I have some maraschino cherries soaking in brandy as I type awaiting for the perfect recipe ot make chocolates with! I usually just drain them, let them dry then dip them in chocloate. While they are good just like that Ive been wanting to find a nice creamy center to add to it! Unfortunately the store did not have the stemmed ones so I bought the ONLY kind they had. But I have a chocolate mold perfect for cherry type candies. I will fill the mold with the chocolate, let it harden, add some of the dough inside add the cherry and add more dough to secure the cherry nicely then cover the bottom with chocolate. This way too should take care of the leaky bottom problem! Will post results when I make these! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
super easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I'm a Baker and have been using a recipe very similar to this for years. The only difference is that I add about 1 tsp of the Cherry Syrup to the sugar dough. I find that it adds more flavor to the final product. In my experience, You really must keep the dough refrigerated, I usually have time to make about 10 before putting it back in the fridge (for about 7-10 minutes). Also, when wrapping the cherries in the sugar, smush it in kinda roughly, and then roll it in your hands to even it out. That creates the nicest result. And when I do mine, sometimes I use cherries without stems. When doing this, you need to have wire tongs to dip it into the chocolate, but the overall result is the same. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Photo by mommytron
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
i have made a very similar recipe to this before. they were a hit but when i went to make them i couldn't find my recipe. i found this one and it sounded the same, so i gave them a shot. i bought 4 jars of about 32 cherries..so about 120 cherries and doubled the filling recipe. i used a pound of the chocolate coating (almond bark) and a bag of semi-sweet chips with a Tbsp of shortening for the chocolate dip. they came out beautifully, i tried a couple of them, the taste is great, we'll see how they turn out in a couple of weeks! i'm hoping for a nice liquid-y center like the last recipe i used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States