Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I just finished makeing these. It is quite a job. Maybe I should have added a little more of the sugar so it wouldn't be so sticky, but I was afraid it would change the flavor. I havn't tasted them yet, got to let them "ripen" for a couple of weeks. I do think it is quite expensive, though, as you can buy them for $1.00 a box. Fun to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Drunken Cherries: Drain the cherry juice, let the cherries dry a bit on a paper towel, then fill the jars with Vanilla Vodka. (I also used Mango Liquor, Burbon and Brandy, in different jars.) Let them marinade for a bit, then make as the recipe says. I covered each in a different chocolate, decorated the tops with different sugars so everyone could tell which was which. They are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I don't know what everyone else did that i didn't, but this recipe just did not work out. I spent a good hour and half trying everything to make this work but the only thing that went right was the filling. I dipped my cherries in chocolate and after so many cherries, the chocolate went all weird and stiff and wouldn't melt back down. then when i finally had all my cherries dipped, i tried pulling the stems out, but then the whole cherry just popped out of the chocolate coating. The cherries tasted fine, but overall this was a horrible waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Justice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I actually have not gotten to make these yet. Do you use real butter, salted or unsalted. Do not understand why the recipes never include this information.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Made these CCC over the weekend. My fondant was 3 T butter, 2 T corn syrup and 2 cups sifted flour. Fondant made 26 covered cherries. I made this fondant again ending with 52 covered cherries. Froze cherries before wrapping fondant. Then froze fondant coverd cherries before dipping. Used 1 bag Nestles chips, 2 T shortening and 2 squares of White almond bark. Used stemmed cherries for ease in dipping. After dipped and set I pulled stem out, had to put on more chocolate to cover hole and then a little more chocolate on bottom (to prevent leaking). They are curing now. Husband tried one and said it was very good. I am going to wait a week, hoping the center is a little liquid by then. Very easy to do. Just very time consuming. I love chocolate covered cherries and tasting the fondant and chocolate, they have to be awesome delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
So easy....so sweet...great gift idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Great idea! this were awesome!! instead of using fresh cherries I used caned cherries , didn't have to wait a week! and i used 2 cups of chocolate chips. You HAVE to try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
So easy to work with!! this fondant tastes good and is so easy. I made it along side the top rated recipe from another site that called for margarine, sweetened condenser milk, and vanilla. I liked the flavor of the other one slightly better, but this one was so much easier to work with. a HUGE help came from a tip i found to FREEZE THE CHERRIES before wrapping... genius! so much easier :) excellent recipe thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Perfect! And so easy if you use the microwave dipping chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Super easy and very tasty! It was hard to wait the full time. I think they only lasted 4 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States