Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Excellent! Even though my husband could only wait a day to taste one he said they are absolutely delicious. I had to hide the rest so he didn't eat them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Riverdale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Amazingly easy and delicious. I didn't get these made early enough to sit for a week or so before my family Christmas celebration, but noone complained. My only suggestion would be to make sure the "dough" is chilled because it gets very sticky as it warms up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemaytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
These only made it a week in our house. They were ok when they were fresh, but tasted much better after a week. Next time I’ll try to hold off for two weeks so the sugar dough has more time to liquefy. I added 1/2 tsp of almond extract to the dough and I thought it was a nice touch. The dough was extremely easy to work with. I froze the dough covered strawberries for about an hour before coating. I also used Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate chips mixed with a Tablespoon of shortening for the coating and it worked great. Next time, I think I’ll soak the cherries in Kirsch and use Ghiradelli bittersweet chips for a more sophisticated variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This was pretty easy to do...the only thing I found was that there just wasn't enough fondant to cover 60 cherries (I was able to cover 47). I used one 12-oz bag of semisweet chocolate chips, which was enough to dip about 42-44 cherries--I ran out of room on my wax paper-covered cookie sheet after 42 cherries, so I ate the remaining 5 fondant-covered cherries. Yum! These were made as a gift for my father-in-law, so we'll see how he likes them (he loves his chocolate-covered cherries).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Reitz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Grange, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Just wonderful. I use cherries without the stems though. It is really hard to wait a week to eat them.. but they are worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Best choc covered cherries! Just like the ones you buy in the store, Freezing the drained cherries and then freezing the fondant wrapped cherries made dipping them sooo easy! I used the Wilton Dark Cocoa candy to dip them in, would be even better (if that is possible) dipped in premium chocolate that is properly tempered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
These are great, I haven't tried them yet but I used to just dip the cherries in chocolate and those were good. Another member suggested putting the cherries in to tiny truffle cups, that was brilliant! also I added parafin wax so the chocolate doesn't melt if it's out of the fridge for an extended amount of time. Also to make this recipe easier to handle I freeze the dough before I cover the cherries, and then after I cover the cherries I put them in the freezer again so the dough wont melt off in the chocolate when you dip them. All in all a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
These are way better than the store-bought cherry cordials. I also added cherry and almond extracts to the dough (about 3/4 tsp cherry and 1/4 tsp almond). This recipe was way easier to make than I thought it would be. Cherry cordials are my husband's favorite Christmas candy, so we'll definitely make this one a tradition. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I never would have thought that I could make candy like this--on the first try! I used Ghiradelli Chocolate chips melted in a cereal bowl over some simmering water and added a little shortening. Worked like a charm. I was hoping the white center would "dissolve" into just juices and sure enough, after just a few days they have. I'm so impressed with myself and this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurricane, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
It took a few mess ups to get the hang of it, but I found that if I keep the cherries in the fridge, and pull them out one at a time to dip them in the chocolate (I used Wilton Candy Melts) they don't melt. It is going to be torturous to wait the 2 weeks to eat these. They taste so good already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States