Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
These cherries are delish!!! Tough to keep around the house for two weeks but worth it! THIS IS A GREAT ACTIVITY FOR KIDS! My 8 year old son and I made many for Valentine's Day this year. I froze the cherries after quickly draining the juice out. The juicier the cherry the better. We then wrapped them and tossed them into the freezer again while we melted the chocolate. Dulci Frutta is a perfect chocolate for this recipe and for projects with kids! Last step was to drizzle a little white chocolate across the top. My son was very proud to hand these out after he had helped with every step of this recipe. We only altered the recipe by adding a small amount of the cherry juice to the fondant and then more sugar to even out the dough. Also, made Grand Marnier cherries for the adults by marinating the drained cherries for two days. SO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
These are very good. I made them last week and they have improved with age, but I'm giving them a 4 star rating because the filling is a little pasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
They are wonderful and they taste exactly like the boxed chocolate covered cherries. It takes a little time to make them, however, it is worth it. Great recipe......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
It's cold here in Illinois (everywhere?) right now so a great time for candy making. My dad gave us Brach's dark chocolate covered cherries every year for Christmas and now they don't make them. I was hoping this would be like them. I didn't have the chocolate bark so I used the little dark chocolate "buttons" I buy every year at Christmas from the local candy supply store. Also, my cherries didn't have stems but this wasn't a problem. The key is to buy the little Wilton candy dipping packet that has 3 or 4 different kinds of dipping tools. Also, DROP THESE ON A COLD WAX PAPER COOKIE SHEET - helps them set right away. Only a couple needed re-dipped. If you have a little uncovered spot on the bottom, just pick it up after setting, and re-dip just that little spot. All that being said, these are good but WAY too sweet. Update: I tried this again with the milk chocolate (same buttons from candy making store) and they are way better so I'm upgrading to 5 stars. Thanks! Another update - I tried this at Christmas with the "chocolate bark" and really hated it - yuck! Use real milk chocolate! If you can't find the candy "buttons", use milk chocolate chips. It really does make all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROSNANFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
VERY easy to make. turned out perfectly after sitting for 2 weeks. they were gone in 20 minutes. I will buy the big jar of cherries from Sam's club for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TREEGRL97

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
These were awesome! I never thought I would ever be making chocolate covered cherries. I had no idea how the liquid got around the cherry. I made these as a Christmas gift for my parents, and it was loved by all. I just used the Wilton chocolate wafers (you can get at Wal-Mart, Michaels, JoAnns) in the candy/craft baking area. I melted them in a double boiler and they were terrific. After I had dipped them, I did go back and use a knife to spread more chocolate on the bottom and laid them on their side to harden quickly. That way I was able to avoid any leaking out the bottom. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
5 stars for flavor. We made these for Christmas gifts this year and then took the leftovers to a church supper - Word got out fast and they were completely gone in no time! Our only problem was wrapping the cherry in the fondant. We ended up making them like peanut butter cups in the mini muffin pan. The shape may not be right, but nothing oozes out after they have set up and I think people liked that extra bite of goodness that they had to take!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
These were wonderful. Next time I am going to put the cherries to rum for a couple of days for extra flavor. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Turned out wonderful! I used a little less powdered sugar coating on mine, and they turned out fabulous! I also drizzled white chocolate over the tops for looks. I gave these away as Christmas gifts. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha715

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Oh my these are sooo good!!! I didn't have enough fondant to cover all of my cherries, so next time I will make about 1 and 1/3 times the amount to cover all of my cherries. Also, it is necessary to go back the next day and patch the holes before the liquid oozes out, or you will have unpleasant looking candies. I didn't use candy coating because I'm not sure what kind of quality chocolate taste it would give, so I melted good chocolate with a little bit of shortening and it worked perfectly. I will be making these every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 161-170 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States