Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This recipe turned out quite well, although after two weeks the filling was still not quite as gooey as I would have liked. When I made them a second time I soaked the cherries in a little bit of rum overnight. This added some extra moisture to the cherries. I also did not drain them for very long to keep more juice in the cherries. Finally I made the dough a little less stiff by adding some of the cherry juice. It made it a little harder to work with, but resulted in the inside liquifying much more readily. Maybe this was mostly a dry climate problem, but I felt like these changes made a hugh positive difference. I also used real chocolate and kept it at a fairly low temperature so it would keep its temper. This ended up putting a thicker coat on the cherries and mostly eliminated the problem of leaking out the bottom of the cherry. With the changes I just described, I would give the recipe five stars, but it was still very good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Ok so these were soooo GREAT. But I had some issues with the sugar. It was fine if it was REALLY cold but the second it warmed up (like from my hands) it just got all sticky and stuck more to my fingers than the cherries so I had a hard time getting it to form an even layer. Then of course sense it was so temerpature sensitive it melted in the chocolate if it took me too long to fish it out. Any suggestions as to why my sugar mix didnt work well?? Otherwise GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
yummy and easy...followed direction exactly! Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DCJ131

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Very smooth and great tasting. Everyone loved this dish at my employee christmas party. Out of all the many desserts, this was the one item that was entirely eaten. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stockport, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
These are better than any store bought i've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Absolutely amazing! Made these for my close friends & co-workers as part of a holiday gift box & everyone loved them. Way better than what you would buy at the store. Thanks so much for a great recipe! Will definitely become a holiday tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I am not an experienced candy maker but these were easy and delicious! I was eating them immediately, so I'm anxious to see how good they are in a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cailin
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
These are pretty as a gift- but way too much effort to just make for myself. I had trouble getting the "dough" to a point where I could wrap it around the cherries. I had to add extra sugar and pop it in the freezer for a while. I then put the cherries in the freezer for several hours and took them out one at a time (because otherwise they just melted) to dip them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Just got done making them. Really easy just remember to freeze in between steps makes it a little easy. Will let you all know how they taste giving them away as christmas presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Great recipe! I found that by "dusting" my hands with powdered sugar while wrapping the sugar dough around the cherries went a lot faster and was less messy. I have made these lots of times and I tweaked the recipe just a bit by adding a few drops of almond extract to the dough to give the finished candy more of a cordial flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can_It_Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States