Chocolate Covered Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I made these to give as gifts to my friends for Valentine’s Day. These were very good and pretty sweet. I measured the dough into teaspoons and rolled into a ball before flattening with the bottom of a glass dipped in powdered sugar. This made it a uniform thickness and was perfectly round and wrapped around the cherries nicely. I was disappointed with the chocolate not having a shine to it. Great recipe. I will make these again. 12-15-2014 update: I've made these little gems a couple times and they are way better than store bought. The teaspoon of fondant called for is the perfect amount to wrap around the cherries, much more than that and your centers may not get as gooey as you would like. Definitely best to make these 10 days - 2 weeks before you intend to devour them. Instead of using conf coating, I melt a bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips made with real cocoa butter using a glass bowl over a steaming pot of water. A good quality chocolate is key to a delicious result. I thought the semi-sweet chocolate helps to cutdown on sweetness just a tad. After dipping the cherries I put the leftover chocolate into a sandwich zip top bag, clipped the corner and drizzled the chocolate over the coated cherries to give them a prettier finished look. I do think it took more than an hour to make these. So easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
These are great! And easy too! My friends and I really enjoy eating these each year at Christmas time. I let mine sit in my pantry for a week or two and they get really nice and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
If I could give this ten stars I would. They are amazing! Alot of work but so worth the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Although these took a little more effort than I expected, they were VERY good. Choc Cov Cherries are one of my husbands' favorites, and about a week after he ate some of these I didn't feel like making them again so I bought him a box. Big mistake. The boxed ones fall so flat against these, especially if you use good chocolate. One thing - make sure you use a VERY THIN coating of the sugar dough, if it's too thick it won't soften enough, and I did keep mine in the fridge. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KY Piano Teacher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
These were much easier than I anticipated to make. I followed the directions exactly. I let them sit for over a week and they still didn't turn 100% to liquid. Maybe they aren't supposed to?? The taste was good, but I still prefer the ones from the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
made these for christmas this year, they were a big hit with everybody who was into'em. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
These are AWESOME! And way easier than I ever thought Chocolate Covered Cherries would be. I only got about 48 out if it, but I probably used a bit too much dough on the first few cherries. I only had a few that I had trouble getting the stems out of, so I kept those for myself. I gave about 30 of them out as gifts for Christmas, and everyone who received them was very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan U.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
These were very good and easy to make. I found it helpful to freeze the cherries (with the dough on them)before you dip them in chocolate so the dough won't melt off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
DO NOT USE butter with the chocolate. Keep hands cold and roll cherries in powdered sugar. Pull fondant into a flat piece to wrap. Use only fingertips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Tastes fabulous. Everyone I gave to wanted more. Surprisingly easy recipe to make, but a big crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States